2015 Reading Review

2015RR
Photo Source

As the year comes to an end, we reflect on the past twelve months.  The good times, the bad times, what we’ve learned through it all – and for some of us, the books that we’ve read.  Read on to see my favourite books of the year, how I fared with my reading goals, and other fun statistics.  (I’m only half kidding on the statistics front.)

Best Books of the Year

bestof15

My favourite books of the year are the unsurprising The Martian, and a book greatly under appreciated in my circles, Nevil Shute’s On The Beach.  And now that I think about it, they’re both tales of survival, and isolation, and humanity.  In different ways, to be sure, but they both had endings that crushed me under an avalanche of emotions, and stories I think about almost daily.

Reading Goals Revisited
Goodreads Challenge:  89/50
Published prior to 2000:  20/10
Classic:  7/5
Historical: 20/10
Halve the TBR: 16/21

These are the trackable goals I set myself at the beginning of 2015 and I’m pleased to say I was able to achieve them all.  I wanted to read 50 novels, check.  I’m trying to increase the number of ‘older’ books I read; both through novels that fit the criteria of being published pre the year 2000, and those considered as classics.  Check and check.  I also upped the amount of historical fiction I read this year, and only ended up reading a handful of fantasy books, which surprised me.  Finally, I brought my tbr down from 42 books to 16, making me feel a lot better about the books that had been sitting – forgotten – on my kindle.

Mean, Median & Mode
Average star rating:  3.3
Average page count:  456
Average year of publication:  2001
Most read genre:  Historical Fiction

My average star rating has decreased from both the end of last year and from the check in back in the middle of the year, but my average page count has gone up!  (Thank you, historical fiction.)  Next year I think I’ll try to keep the higher page count, but aim for an earlier average year of publication and, hopefully, a 4.0 average star rating.

One thought on “2015 Reading Review

Leave a Reply

