Top (Finished) Series I Haven’t Finished

toptentuesdayIt’s opportunities like this that remind me just how few series I actually read.  Which always amuses me as it seems the rest of the booktube/blogging community is constantly up to their necks in half finished series.  Then again, apparently I do have a few of my own.

The Mistborn Trilogy, Brandon Sanderson

Oh, Mistborn trilogy, my opinion of you changes with every book I read.  I loved The Final Empire, but really didn’t get along with The Well Of Ascension – in fact, I’d go so far as to say I slogged through a lot of that book.  Needless to say, while I would love to get The Hero Of Ages read and the series finished, I still have to psych myself up a bit before heading into it.

The Millenium Trilogy, Stieg Larsson

I read The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo and The Girl Who Played With Fire years ago but apparently never managed The Girl Who Kicked The Hornet’s Nest.  I know the “fourth” book in the series was recently released but I’m still counting Hornet’s Nest as the last book in the series and I’m going to do my damnedest to get it read by Christmas.

The Percy Jackson & The Olympians Series, Rick Riordan

Three down, two to go.  And I know, if I put my mind to it I could probably get this series completed in a day or two.  I just have to get around to it.  I really like it, but I don’t love it, which I think is part of the problem.  Especially as so many of my fellow bloggers absolutely adore the series.  Hey ho.

The Caster Chronicles, Kami Garcia & Margaret Stohl

I stopped after book two, and I don’t really care to continue.  Beautiful Creatures could dalmost have been a standalone, and in my mind, it kind of is.  But you never know.  I like the characters and the world well enough (I’m a sucker for books set in the South) so one day I might just pick up the last two books in the series and finish it off.

The Parasol Protectorate Series, Gail Carriger

And another series I gave up on after book two, but lives on in my head because of the many, many lovely things people say about these books.  Soulless was amazing but Changeless…. anyway.  The odds that I’ll pick up book three are increasing almost daily.  The characters!  The steampunk!  The trendy female main character!  And the amazing werewolf clan.  Yes.  Perhaps I will be getting on with the Parasol Protectorate series shortly.

11 thoughts on “Top (Finished) Series I Haven’t Finished

  1. *splutters about Mistborn*

    By this point you may have even finished the series but yeah. I reread book one a few days ago and now I’m just looking at book 2 like eh … you’ll keep. I remember that book 2 was kind of meh and then book 3 was pretty good, although book 1 was stellar. Of course, I also haven’t reread them in 6 years, so maybe I’m remembering them wrong or my opinion will be totally different having now read so much more Sanderson and having more crossover characters to look for.

    • Ehhhh, I’m sorry? Book one was just so good and book two really, really wasn’t. I haven’t been in a fantasy mood lately, but I’m sure I’ll pick it up eventually. Don’t give up on me just yet!

  2. I gave up on the Caster Chronicles as well. I know I read the first two and I think I at least started the third but can’t remember if I finished it!

    I liked the Parasol Protectorate series but Soulless is by far the best of the books. Things change as the series goes along and I kept reading though they weren’t quite as good.

Leave a Reply

