Obsidian, Jennifer L Armentrout


obsidianStarting over sucks.

When we moved to West Virginia right before my senior year, I’d pretty much resigned myself to thick accents, dodgy internet access, and a whole lot of boring… until I spotted my hot neighbor, with his looming height and eerie green eyes. Things were looking up.

And then he opened his mouth.

Daemon is infuriating. Arrogant. Stab-worthy. We do not get along. At all. But when a stranger attacks me and Daemon literally freezes time with a wave of his hand, well, something… unexpected happens.

The hot alien living next door marks me.

You heard me. Alien. Turns out Daemon and his sister have a galaxy of enemies wanting to steal their abilities, and Daemon’s touch has me lit up like the Vegas Strip. The only way I’m getting out of this alive is by sticking close to Daemon until my alien mojo fades.

If I don’t kill him first, that is.

Find the book on Goodreads.

I needed something to read.  I was sick of seeing Obsidian on my Overdrive wishlist.  I thought, “Well, I’ll give it a shot, and if I hate it, I can always return it and finally take it off my wishlist.”  Long story short, I didn’t hate it and despite the ridiculous plot and the eye roll inducing phrasing, do you think I could put it down?  And that, my friends, it the mark of a fun read.

So, I haven’t read other reviews of this book but I’m sure I’m not the only one who is drawing Twilight parallels.  Obsidian is the most Twilight-y book I’ve read since, er, Twilight.  Like, there were times when I felt like I was reading a rehashed Twilight.  The  unnecessary hatred, the “you should stay away from me”, the paranormal family dynamic, the introvert female MC who gets herself into life threatening situations so the love interest can save her and be all broody.  But like I said, I didn’t hate it.

I liked reading Obsidian for the same reason I imagine everyone else does, I was in it for the sexual tension.  I needed to know how that relationship was going to play out.  I also didn’t hate Kat, though a lot of her personality was in telling rather than showing, I thought.   I did like her reaction to finding out her friends are aliens, and when she would stand her ground.  But then she would give in in the next breath and forgive Daemon (terrible name) for his crappy behaviour.  And since I’m not intending on continuing on with the series, I can also like that Kat told him “thanks but no thanks” in the end, even though I’m sure she’ll give in to him the next time he turns up shirtless on her front porch.

three

One thought on “Obsidian, Jennifer L Armentrout

Leave a Reply

