The Summer Slump

SLUMP

Every summer I slump.  In general, not just in reading, but that’s another story.  And every summer I become frustrated because everywhere else on the internet, or so it seems, everyone else is using their vacation time to cram in as much reading as possible.  Well, in the time I should be reading, I thought why not write about it instead?

There are beautiful blog posts and well crafted videos on every subject of summer reading you can think of.   You’ve got hauls, and TBRs, and read-a-thon’s, and recommended reading lists, and it all sounds fantastic.  I don’t know about you, but seeing all of this makes me so excited to not only read, but to discuss what I read with others.  It’s just that when it comes time to actually, you know, pick up a book and put the man hours in I find myself feeling disengaged.  It’s like I’m in love with the idea of reading, more than actually doing it.

It’s disheartening to look at your tbr, no matter how big or small, and find yourself not even remotely interested in anything on it.  Worse even than that is heading to the bookshop and feeling the same thing.  Then again, there are other things in life beside reading, and perhaps this is a good opportunity to do them.  Afterall, reading slumps tend to pass, I just wish I knew what caused them in the first place.

Maybe reading really is more of a winter activity for me.  Maybe I need a previously undiscovered book to come into my life and renew my passion.  Maybe I just need a break.  My only two pieces of advice for when you find yourself in a reading slump is to A) let it run its course, and B) when you feel like reading, pick up an old favourite.

What do you think?  How does your reading progress fare in summer?

7 thoughts on “The Summer Slump

  1. I was in a reading slump in May/June, but I think it was primarily tied to some things in my personal life that I was struggling with and very worried about. I kind of just checked out of life, compared to my usual self. I was in a reading frenzy in July and got scheduled so far ahead with all of the posts I could, but now that school (and the stress) is starting back up, that slump feeling is coming back – but this time in terms of writing the reviews. I just want to read book after book right now. I agree that I also find myself disengaged with certain books because of the lack of interaction with others about them.

  2. Pingback: Sunday Post (August 16) | Girl of 1000 Wonders

  3. ” It’s like I’m in love with the idea of reading, more than actually doing it.”

    I know exactly what you mean! Sometimes the thought of having read all the books I plan to is more exciting than actually reading them. It’s so strange. I’m glad I’m not alone!

    I’m like you, I read more in winter. I haven’t wanted to read or blog much at all since mid-June. I’m going to let it run it’s course.

  4. When I’m in a slump, I can still go to a book store or library and get excited about books and buy them, but then when it comes to reading them… not so much. I’ve been reading much slower this summer than I wanted to, but I’m just happy that the books I have read I’ve really enjoyed (for the most part). Hope your slump stops soon!! Maybe you’ll find that just right book that you can’t put down and it’ll be over 🙂

  5. My slumps are typically not related to the season, but more related to how busy and/or stressed I am at work. When I’m busy and really stressed, all I want to do is come home and watch Netflix. I forget to come home and comment on all those blogs I skimmed during the day (which is why this comment is so late). Right now, I’m in more of a blogging mini-slump than a reading slump, partially because I’ve been rereading like a FIEND, but then I’ve got nothing to review and nothing to discuss because I’m consumed by revived Harry Potter feels.

  6. This post resonates with me. I find I read more and blog more during the winter months. Possibly because reading is more of a winter activity for me too. Nothing beats curling up on the couch with hot tea and a good book. I’m also usually pretty distracted by work during the summer months, which affects my drive to read and write. I’m a bookkeeper for a moving company, and summer tends to be absolute chaos, so I’m pretty exhausted by the time I get home.

Leave a Reply

