The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks, E Lockhart

dhoflbanksFrankie Landau-Banks at age 14:
Debate Club.
Her father’s “bunny rabbit.”
A mildly geeky girl attending a highly competitive boarding school.

Frankie Landau-Banks at age 15:
A knockout figure.
A sharp tongue.
A chip on her shoulder.
And a gorgeous new senior boyfriend: the supremely goofy, word-obsessed Matthew Livingston.

Frankie Laundau-Banks.
No longer the kind of girl to take “no” for an answer.
Especially when “no” means she’s excluded from her boyfriend’s all-male secret society.
Not when her ex boyfriend shows up in the strangest of places.
Not when she knows she’s smarter than any of them.
When she knows Matthew’s lying to her.
And when there are so many, many pranks to be done.

Frankie Landau-Banks, at age 16:
Possibly a criminal mastermind.

This is the story of how she got that way.

Find the book on Goodreads.

I haven’t really felt like reading this month, so when I decided to pick this book up I wasn’t at all sure I’d get past page thirty.  But, you know, I like books about boarding schools.  I like books about properly strong and properly sassy female characters.  These are major aspects of the story, but I’ll be honest, I knew nothing when I began.  In classic Sam fashion, I went in blind.  I can’t even remember the last time I read a blurb before reading a book.  But I digress.

I know We Were Liars is the E Lockhart book getting all the hype, but this is the book that truly deserves it.  A strong, flawed female character that goes after what she wants and doesn’t let anyone, let alone some boy, tell her how to do things.  With a secret society and well planned hijinks, it’s the YA boarding school trope with a twist.  I can’t say a lot about the plot without spoiling what is a really fun story, so you’ll just have to give it a go for yourself.

I will say thought that the highlight of the book was seeing Frankie take on the whole group of boys, and succeed, time after time.  She knows she smarter than them, and I loved seeing her prove it.  It’s a book in the same vein as some of my favourite works of YA fiction How To Be Interesting, and It’s Not All About You, Calma! and I really, really liked it.  If you have any recommendations for similar books you’ve read, please leave them in the comments below.

Leave a Reply

