Reading Habits: How I Read

howiread

Thoughts On Tomes posted her response to the How I Read Tag a couple of weeks ago and I quite liked the questions, so I decided to give it a go.

*Image from Unboundbooks.tumblr.com
1. How do you find out about new books to read?
All the usual ways, I suppose.  I read blogs, I watch booktube videos, I click through the ‘preorder’ pages on booksellers’ websites.  My favourite way to find out about new books though is to ‘compare books’ with people on Goodreads to see what we have in common, and if we have similar taste, what they liked that I haven’t read yet.  That, or reading through a new favourite author’s entire back catalogue.

2. How did you get into reading?
Long story short, Harry Potter.  The longer version of this story is me reading on and off ever since I was about 10.  After the first three Harry Potter books (all that were published at the time) I read almost everything Tamora Pierce had written.  When I was 13 my mother introduced me to Diana Gabaldon, but it was not until I was 16 that I started to actively seek out book recommendations.  I took some fantasy recs from my best friend, enlisted the help of the internet, and continued picking up the odd book or two up to two years ago, when I started blogging – and reading a lot more.

3. How has your taste in books changed as you’ve gotten older?
I started out quite early on with fantasy and historical fiction, and they’re still my favourite genres.  Something I have picked up over the past year or so though is science fiction.  I’ve also come around to the idea that I’m reading for me and only me, so if I’m not enjoying something I’ll put it down and read something else.

4. How often do you buy books?
I’ve never bought more than a handful of books at once, and for the most part I buy a book when I want to read it.  There are those times when a book off my tbr will go on special for 99c and I’ll have to buy it – but a lot of these end up sitting on my kindle and never being read.  I probably buy a book or two every month, plus audiobooks whenever I finish one.

5. How did you get into Book-blogging?
I’d always wanted to write a blog but never had anything to write about.  When I got back into reading a couple of years ago I found I had a lot to say and no one to tell – hence, the blog.  Reading other blogs and watching booktube videos was also a big part of that.

6. How do you react when you don’t like the end of a book?
I try to pretend it didn’t happen.  Take PS I Still Love You, for example.  That ending made zero sense to me, even though I knew that’s how things would end up, and I didn’t like the way it was done.  So I closed the book and pretended it didn’t end like that.

7. How often do you take a “sneak peak” at the end of a book to see if there is a happy ending?
I used to do this all the time.  Like, all the time.  Then I would complain that the ending had been spoiled for me.  Thankfully, the invention of ebooks has kind of saved me from myself.

One thought on “Reading Habits: How I Read

Leave a Reply

