Rat Queens, Kurtis J Weibe

ratqueens

Who are the Rat Queens?

A pack of booze-guzzling, death-dealing battle maidens-for-hire, and they’re in the business of killing all god’s creatures for profit.

It’s also a darkly comedic sass-and-sorcery series starring Hannah the Rockabilly Elven Mage, Violet the Hipster Dwarven Fighter, Dee the Atheist Human Cleric and Betty the Hippy Smidgen Thief. This modern spin on an old school genre is a violent monster-killing epic that is like Buffy meets Tank Girl in a Lord of the Rings world on crack!

I went about this in a round-about way.  I was lucky enough to be given a copy of volume 2 by the publisher through Netgalley.  I hadn’t read volume 1 at this point, only the first issue and that was way back when it was first released, but I’d heard great things and I was in a bit of a slump and wanted something easy to read.

Basically, everything you’ve heard about this series is true.  Hell, the phrase “worth the hype” comes to mind.  The cast is a band of badass female characters who are their own people and do their own thing.  But while they’re all got their own storyarc going on, they’re also banding together to battle giant cephalopods emerging from the sky or you know, mushroom people.  I flew through volume 2 and I was invested in everything and loved it all and went right out and read volume 1 immediately afterward.

So, since we’re being honest, I have to say that I didn’t like volume 1 nearly as much.  In fact, if I had have read them in the correct order I may not ever have picked up volume 2.  The first volume was kind of something and nothing, whereas I found the overall arc of the second to be completely enthralling, and the character arc of my personal favourite character, Violet, only marginally more awesome than those of Hannah and Dee.  It was all great, is what I’m trying to say.  Plus, worshiping giant space/alternate dimension dwelling cephalopods is always a winner in my book.

The art is detailed but still colourful and cartoon-y.  The writing often borders on Whedon-esque, which I love, and the general landscape and feel is very World Of Warcraft, which I also love.  So here’s to many more amazing editions of Rat Queens.four

Leave a Reply

