Popular Books I DNF’ed

 shadowbone

Sometimes, no matter how much you want to love a book  you just have to accept that it’s not going to happen for you.  Sure, you muddle on through page after page until you realise that you don’t care what’s going to happen to the characters.  Life’s too short to finish that book you’re not enjoying, no matter how much everyone else seems to love it, and here are three such books that I had to put down.

Shadow And Bone, Leigh Bardugo

I know.  I’m sorry.  I got about halfway through and realised that I couldn’t take the main character seriously.  I was already rolling my eyes at the military genius teenage girl who thinks she’s plain, even though she’s not, who has some kind of chosen one uber special ability that can save the world.  And then the Darkling made an appearance, and they made her over when she got to the palace or what have you and I could have forgiven these things but I just couldn’t get on board with the main character.  Slightly unfair perhaps because I know YA fantasy isn’t for me, but guys, I tried.

meearldyinggirl

Me & Earl & The Dying Girl, Jesse Andrews

I was so excited to read this but it really wasn’t for me.  I think I got to page 75.  I’ve heard the humour is hit and miss but I wouldn’t call it the ‘humour’ that was a miss for me, it was the main character.  He was a terrible human being!  All of his thoughts were horrible and offensive and I’ve never come across a character like him before.  I figured the whole ‘being friends with the dying girl’ thing would allow him to grow up a bit and become a better person, but unfortunately, I couldn’t stick with the book long enough to see that happen.

welloflostplots

The Well Of Lost Plots, Jasper Fforde

Sometimes a series starts off well but loses steam or deviates from whatever it was that you liked about the first could of books.  I picked this up fully intending on continuing on with the Thursday Next series but it got too silly and too hard to see what the book was even about.  The main character spends all her time jumping through hoops and never getting anywhere, which is frustrating to read about.  Instead of moving the plot forward, I feel like most of the word count is taken up by weird inventions and introducing more characters.  I need plot development!

Last year I wrote about three popular books not worth the hype, HERE.

4 thoughts on “Popular Books I DNF’ed

  1. Pingback: Sunday Post (July 26) | Girl of 1000 Wonders

  2. I DNF’d Shatter Me so I totally get this. I haven’t tried Shadow and Bone but I don’t think it’d be for me!

  3. Life IS too short to read books you have to force yourself through. When I first started blogging I thought it was sacrilegious to DNF a book, and it’s taken me a long time to get to the point where I’m not uncomfortable doing so. I’d say in the last 6 months or so I’ve really opened up to the idea of DNFing a book and not feeling terrible about it. A rule of thumb our librarian told us in elementary school was to read the first three chapters, and if you still don’t like it, move on!

    • That librarian knew what they were talking about! I’ve never had a problem DNFing books, but with book blogging and whatnot, there is a bit more prressure to like whatever that masses like. Oh well!!

Leave a Reply

