Halfway Point 2015

top3june

I know what you’re all thinking, “Hey, Sam, how is your reading year shaping up so far?”  Well, I’m glad you asked, because I’m going to tell you.  Check back next week to see how I’m doing with my 2015 Reading Goals.

Top 3 Books of the Year (So Far)

Props to all of those who completed this week’s Top Ten Tuesday with their top TEN books of the year.  Here are my top three with the reviews linked up if you’re interested to know more.

A TOWN LIKE ALICE, NEVIL SHUTE // VICIOUS, VE SCHWAB // THE MARTIAN, ANDY WEIR

Reading Breakdown

june1

Unsurprisingly, as I’m doing my best not to buy paperbacks, the majority of books I’ve read this year are ebooks – 36 of them, actually, compared to just 3 paperbacks.  Audiobooks were doing well at the beginning of the year, but graphic novels have crept up over the past couple of months.  Poor audiobooks have been shoved from their place in my commute in favour of my newly discovered love for podcasts.  Sorry, audiobooks.

june3

I’ve also altered my rating system slightly.  I was finding too often that I would enjoy a book, rate it four stars, then a better book would come along and while it wasn’t quite a 5 star read it was definitely better than whatever book I have just rated 4 stars.  So!  I’ve started to adhere more closely to the Goodreads definitions for the star ratings.  2 stars means it was ok but I wouldn’t recommend it and 3 stars means that I liked it and would probably read it again at some point.  4 stars is now reserved for really great books, and 5 stars, well, you all know what a 5 star book means.  All this to give my reasoning for the majority of ‘lower’ ratings.  I haven’t had an awful six months of reading, I’ve just become more discerning in my awarding of stars.

June2

For the first time in a long time, my stats are showing that I have read more female authors than male.  This can be attributed to me doing more rereading than normal, because apparently, a lot of my favourite series are written by women.  5 Harry Potter books, 6 Diana Gabaldon books, 3 Maggie Stiefvater books, and 2 Rainbow Rowell books.

Mean, Median & Mode

Average star rating:  3.5

Average page count:  439

Average year of publication:  2000

Most read genre:  Fantasy

Leave a Reply

