The Well Of Ascension, Brandon Sanderson

wellofascThe impossible has happened. The Lord Ruler is dead has been vanquished. But so too is Kelsier the man who masterminded the triumph. The awesome task of rebuilding the world has been left to his protege Vin; a one-time street urchin, now the most powerful Mistborn in the land.

Worryingly for her Vin has become the focus of a new religion, a development that leaves her intensely uneasy. More worryingly still the mists have become unpredictable since the Lord Ruler died and a strage vaprous entity is stalking Vin.

As the siege of Luthadel intensifies the ancient legend of the Well of Ascension offers the only glimmer of hope. But no-one knows where it is or what it can do…

Find the book on Goodreads.

Find the book on Audible.

It took me so.  Damned.  Long.  To get into this book.  I took a 6 month break between finishing book one and starting book two, and it took a further six months of picking it up and putting it down to get anywhere at all.  I honestly don’t know what happened.  I loved The Final Empire, and I don’t know anyone who doesn’t love the series as a whole, but for the first three hundred pages or so, my God, was this book slow.  And boring.  I’m sorry.

The all politics and no action beginning eventually gave way to some action, but for the most part I found that I learned a heap about the characters.  I liked the intrigue of not knowing whether one of the Crew was a spy, and Vin’s relationship with Oreseur was a definite highlight for me.  The glimpse into the history of the Kandra and their link to both the Lord Ruler and the Koloss probably shouldn’t have been what I found most interesting in an 800 page epic fantasy novel, but there you go.

So it picked up toward the end, but I’m not totally on board with what happened during the Final Show Down or the direction the story is heading moving into the final book.  Add to that the fact that I’m not as enamoured with the whole Allomancy thing as most people, Elend and Vin’s relationship frustrates me and I still don’t feel like I know what half of the characters look like and you’ve got a reader who has invested significant time in a series but isn’t excited about the conclusion.  I like the world and the writing (and the narrator, because I half listened to this on audiobook) so it’s pleasant enough to become immersed in the book, but somewhere along the way it lost some of its original magic.

three

2 thoughts on “The Well Of Ascension, Brandon Sanderson

  1. I recently read this book, and although I enjoyed it, I had a few problems with it too (and it took me ages to read it as well). I did actually like the pacing of this one better that The Final Empire though. I felt the start of The Final Empire where Vin is being trained in Allomancy was quite slow and boring, whereas The Well of Ascension was more of a gradual building of tension throughout.
    My main problem with these books though is that I really just don’t like Elend, and seen as he is the romantic hero, it does ruin the books for me a little. There just doesn’t seem to be much chemistry between him and Vin, and he is so moral that he doesn’t seem like a realistic, three-dimensional character. I still quite like the whole Allomancy thing though, although I find the fights where they throw coins and stuff kind of hard to follow, and I still can never remember what metals do what.
    Great review! 🙂

    • Thank you for the amazing comment! The more I read reviews, the more I come to see just how much people dislike Elend, which surprises me. I think he’s okay, but he is quite a stick in the mud a lot of the time, and as you said, his morals cost him a lot in this book. And yes, I don’t see him and Vin together at all, which is frustrating!

Leave a Reply

