Maybe Someday, Colleen Hoover

maybesomedayAt twenty-two years old, Sydney is enjoying a great life: She’s in college, working a steady job, in love with her wonderful boyfriend, Hunter, and rooming with her best friend, Tori. But everything changes when she discovers that Hunter is cheating on her—and she’s forced to decide what her next move should be.

Soon, Sydney finds herself captivated by her mysterious and attractive neighbor, Ridge. She can’t take her eyes off him or stop listening to the passionate way he plays his guitar every evening out on his balcony. And there’s something about Sydney that Ridge can’t ignore, either. They soon find themselves needing each other in more ways than one.

Find the book on Goodreads.

When I have a girly reading moment, I embrace it.  This is how I wound up with Maybe Someday in my hot little hands on a Sunday evening and the opening chapters didn’t disappoint.  Dramatic break up?  Check.  Standing outside in the rain until you’re taken in by your hot neighbour?  Check.  Your hot neighbour with whom you share a spiritual connection is completely deaf?  Check.  Wait, what?  I’ll admit, I did not see that coming.  I was enjoying myself, but caught myself mid eye roll when suddenly the story went from the cute exchange of flirty messages via notebook (a la Taylor Swfit’s You Belong With Me video) and text message to, no wait, this is actually a necessity.

I’ve never read a book with a completely deaf main character, let alone from their perspective, and reading this book made me wonder why.  The whole ‘listening with your hands’ thing was a convenient plot device, but it was also really interesting, as was the communication dynamic between Ridge, his brother, and the roommates.  The characters didn’t seem to have much of a life outside of each other but that was fine, because you’re reading it for their interactions and not for them working on their coursework or going to their job.  I quite liked Sydney, even if I found her a little one dimensional, and I really liked Ridge, too, though by the end of it I was questioning some of his motives even if his interactions with Sydney were really hot.

There were a couple of New Adult tropes I wasn’t super keen on – the dual perspectives, the off centre names, the constant tears, the abusive childhood backstory and the general ‘our love is bigger than anything else in the whole wide world’ thing – but theses were small things and you can’t have everything, right?  There were several traps the story managed to avoid, including the hooking up with the hot brother when you can’t have the guy you REALLY want trap, and all of the drama was handed rather maturely for a change.  Sydney and Ridge talked everything out and acted, dare I say it, reasonably.  The kissed when they shouldn’t have?  It won’t happen again.  Even the addition of a terminal illness didn’t turn the characters into crazy people, which was a refreshing change.

TL;DR I think this would make a great movie.  It could be done so well with text messages on screen, and signed conversations and a whole lot of scenes with no spoken dialogue from both of the character’s perspectives.  Come find me when that happens.  Until then, I’ll be here deciding which Hoover to pick up next.

three

 

2 thoughts on “Maybe Someday, Colleen Hoover

  1. Funny — I liked this one a lot but have really, really disliked her books since. Specifically, Ugly Love and Confess infuriated me so much but a lot of people love them.

    I still think Slammed and Point of Retreat are the best things she’s written. Hopeless is good, too

    • Me too! I really liked this one, but moved on to the highly acclaimed Ugly Love and hated it. It was so dull and the plot was odd and the characters were all over the place. I think I’ll try Slammed next and see where to go from there.

Leave a Reply

