Books That Need A Second Chance

goodomens

… or “Books That I Supposedly Read In Highschool And Remember Nothing About”.

 Good Omens by Neil Gaiman & Terry Pratchett

This book.  This book seems like it includes all of my favourite things and is also one of the most highly recommended books on the internet.  (Or my corner of the internet anyway.)  And it always has been.  I remember enjoying the humour but being thoroughly underwhelmed by the whole experience.  It was my first exposure to both Gaiman and Pratchett and I have enjoyed every thing else I have read since more than I enjoyed Good Omens.  To be fair, this was a good ten years ago so I think it’s definitely time I gave this one another shot.

prideandprej

Pride And Prejudice by Jane Austen

My history with this book is complicated.  I loved the 2005 adaptation and bought a cop of the book shortly afterward.  I ignored my mother’s eye rolling and insistence that I wouldn’t enjoy it because, damnit, I saw the film and liked it and everyone in the whole world likes Pride & Prejudice so why wouldn’t I?  Well, she was right.  I’ve picked up and put down this book more times than I have any other.  I’ve enjoyed every adaptation and re imagining of the story I’ve ever watched, I love the characters and the story and the romance – but the book?  It’s my literary nemesis.

1984

1984 by George Orwell

Another highly recommended, well loved, seminal piece of literature.  I read it at age fourteen and I think this was a mistake.  I’m not saying fourteen year olds can’t read and enjoy Orwell, but I certainly didn’t.  What reading 1984 did give me though was knowledge of the ending and thus, an understanding of many pop culture references, so there is that.  Of all of the books on this list, this is certainly the one I feel like I need to reread the most.

agatbeauty

A Great And Terrible Beauty by Libba Bray

This series seems to be making a bit of a comeback on the internet these days as readers dredge up less talked about books, ironically, to talk about.  I remember enjoying the world and the main characters and the feeling the books left me with but then things got weird.  Like, really weird.  And I don’t remember exactly what happened but I know I was confused and bored around the halfway mark of book two, skimmed to the end, and never bothered reading book three.  This was before I really got into reading, so who knows, maybe with more of a grounding in YA and fantasy I could enjoy this series a little more a second time around?

theoutsiders

The Outsiders by SE Hinton

This is a book I actually read for school.  I quite liked it then, but we all knows what happens when you study a book in highschool.  And it’s a shame, because it’s got to be a classic for a reason, right?  I remember nothing about it other than the major character death, so, spoilers.  It’s also another of those books that is referenced constantly in everything else and I do enjoy stories about brotherhood and whatnot – it’s just that rereading The Outsiders isn’t at the top of my reading priorities.  One of these days, though.

What books do you want to give a second chance?

8 thoughts on “Books That Need A Second Chance

  1. You are breaking my heart with the first two books on this list. Two of my favorites! For what it’s worth, though, I think if I had read Good Omens in high school, I wouldn’t have liked the story near as much. It’s not terribly complex or anything, but I think there’s something in the almost cynic-humor that probably works best for *most* people as adults rather than teens.

    I’m reading A Great and Terrible Beauty right now. I’m not terribly far into it, so we’ll see, but the story hasn’t captivated me yet.

    Hmm, I’m trying to think of books I want to give a second chance. I think one would be Brave New World–I read it in high school, and I think I was too caught up in comparing & contrasting it with 1984 to let it stand on its own. I’m sure there are some more, but none come to mind right away!

    • Good Omens will definitely be getting a reread from me very soon. I remember extremely little from the story except the relationship between Crawley and Aziraphale and something about trees? Or is that just my Cabeswater-y thoughts taking over everything?

  2. Give Pride and Prejudice a second chance! Like you I watched the 2005 movie and just fell in love, so I ordered the book. I started reading it and while it’s a bit hard to get through because the writing style is different, I finished it and still love it! I’ll probably reread it again soon and try to be more invested in it that my first read, but I loved it. I think there’s MORE in the book than the movie, so it gives you more of their relationship as it grows. 😛

    1984 was bloody terrible. I had to read it for my Lit class this year and wanted to pull my hair out. The characters were BLAND and boring and just ugh. Nope. I would never reread that book. Ever.

    A Great and Terrible Beauty was a good book! I read the entire trilogy and remember a lot of it, and I reread AGaTB in 2013, but I’m not sure I’d read the trilogy again. After rereading it it was a bit…meh.

    Books that I didn’t finish but deserve a second chance are probably Pivot Point by Kassie West and Lady Thief by A. C. Gaughen. Loved Scarlet but wasn’t in the mood for the sequel, and Pivot Point just didn’t captivate me. :/

Leave a Reply

