What’s Your Bookish Inheritance?

bookishinhertiance

Inspired by this video by books and pieces.  I loved the ideas behind the video, but I’ll be honest, it was the term ‘bookish inheritance’ that inspired me above anything else.

In her video, Elizabeth talks about how interesting she finds other people’s bookshelves and what they say about that particular person.  I, and I am sure many other book lovers out there, am the same.  Whenever I visit another person’s house, my eye is drawn immediately to their books.  God help them if they are trying to tell me something important over a cup of tea in their lounge room, because my attention will inevitably be elsewhere.  It’s like using Goodreads, I guess.  I find it fascinating to compare what I’ve read with the books of people I know, and I want to talk to them about the books.

Elizabeth goes on to discuss how her parents’ bookshelves influenced her own reading history.  My number one example of this is my mother having read Diana Gabaldon’s Outlander years and years and years ago.  She would always talk about the person who had leant it to her, and the people to whom she had leant it afterwards.  When I was finally deemed ‘old enough’, she let me read it.  To this day it’s one of my very favourite novels and it started me back on the reading path that Harry Potter had started me on.  My parents never had the largest collection of books, so what Mum read, I tended to read also.  She read historical fiction more than anything else, and so that’s what I came to love.  Thankfully, my reading was supplemented by school friends (my introduction to the fantasy genre) and my grandmother, who will literally read anything and persevere through whether she is enjoying it or not.

Finally, Elizabeth brings up the question of our own bookish inheritances, or how we might be influencing our own children’s reading habits.  Since the early reading days of Outlander by reading habits have branched out significantly.  I don’t have a large collection of physical books at the moment, but one day I fully intend to.  If we include ebooks, however, I have a rather haphazardly organised miniature library that my hypothetical children can pluck from.  Everything from classics, to graphic novels and, let’s face it, a whole array of sci fi and fantasy to choose from.

What’s your bookish inheritance?

One thought on “What’s Your Bookish Inheritance?

  1. I’m terrible for judging people for their book collections, and I love perusing someone’s book collection. Sometimes I’m surprised by what people have considering how I’ve always known them. It almost makes me reevaluate a person.

    I think of all the books my parents had, they don’t have many now, I read very few of them. I wouldn’t say that had much of an impact on my reading.

    I’d like to think I would have a wide influence on my future children’s reading, but aside from Classics I think I’ll end up letting them take their own direction. My reading isn’t as wide as I would like. I’d like to make sure I have a wall of books they could dive into though.

Leave a Reply

