Books I Wish I Could Read Again For The First Time

I love books, you love books, we all love books.  There are books that we love more than we love others, and then there are books so great, so brilliant, so bloody magical, that, given the option, we would go back in time purely to read them again… for the very first time.

hpps

The Harry Potter series, JK Rowling

The book series that I have never ever forgotten and never intend to.  I’ve reread each book several times and I am partway through listening to the books (for the very first time) on audiobook, narrated by the amazing Stephen Fry.  The magic hasn’t disappeared, of course, but I still remember a primary school friend explaining the brick tapping entry to Diagon Alley and the way it really stirred my imagination for, I believe, the first time in my life.  My love for this series, the whole magical Harry Potter world, is boundless, but even so. what would be truly amazing is if I could experience the wonder again for the first time.

gwtwind

Gone With The Wind, Margaret Mitchell

I feel like this one very nearly goes without saying.  Nearly.  I read it over the course of a week and a half last year and, while I have loved books in the past, reading Gone With The Wind was the book equivalent of a whirlwind romance.  I fell hard and I fell fast, and I wish (God, do I wish) I could experience that again.  Every book since has been compared to GWTW whether I wanted it to be, or not, and I’m sure no romance will ever top that of Rhett and Scarlett.  I’ll be rereading this sometime this year, trying everything I can to replicate that first reading.

agot

A Game of Thrones, George RR Martin

I’ve told this story before, but I embarked upon the Song of Ice & Fire series only after having seen series one of Game of Thrones.  I’ve now seen the TV show and read each book more than once, and more than just wishing I could read the book again for the first time, I wish I could read it without ever having seen the TV show.  I wonder how much the show impacted my interpretation of the book, and whether I would have liked it as much – or even less – had I not seen the show beforehand.

trboys

The Raven Boys, Maggie Stiefvater

A recent discovery, sure, but I’d be lying if I said this book hasn’t infected my thoughts and taken over the part of my brain devoted to fangirling over books.  It’s one of those books of which I just want… more.  Thankfully, it’s a series, but even after three books – and with only one to go – I still want more.  There just aren’t enough well written urban fantasy books that include ravens and ley lines and dead Welsh kings, if you ask me.

 

10 thoughts on “Books I Wish I Could Read Again For The First Time

  1. I definitely wish I could read Harry Potter for the first time, re-experience all my love for Snape and my hate of Umbridge. I’m re-reading them now, and I’m liking different characters. I love Hermione and Harry way more this time round, Snape I actually hate a little, but I’m only on the third book and he doesn’t get interesting till book 4.

    I feel the same way about Game of Thrones too – such good storytelling.

    • I’m halfway through PoA as well, at the moment, and weirdly I’m not liking Harry as much this time around. The boy never stops to think! I always hate Snape (sorry) and for once I’m not totally sympathetic to Dumbledore, which is interesting. The whole Marauders backstory is kind of killing me though. The mirror of Erised! Harry hearing his parents’ last moments when the Dementors show up! So many feelings. Damn, I love this series!

  2. I’m with you on your top three for sure. Those are some of my absolute favorite reads and though every time I reread them, because they are favorites, they are still magical they lack that little extra sparkle that came through the first time.

  3. I’m sooo with you on wanting to read The Raven Cycle for the first time again. I just finished it and I want to return to the characters immediately. I miss all of them and the story and the writing, and I’m highly anticipating the last book. I’ll likely do a re-read before it comes out. 😛

    There are so many books I wish I could read for the first time again, simply because they were so amazing. One of them is definitely Vicious by V.E. Schwab, and Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas. They’re some of my favorite books and I’d love to experience the characters for the first time again!

  4. I wish I could read the Harry Potter books again for the first time but I’m glad I read them when I did and before the movies. Now some of the surprise may be gone for new readers who don’t have to wait to find out the truth about Snape or other secrets.

    I wish I could have read A Game of Thrones without seeing the show first. I actually found out a major spoiler by looking at reviews on Amazon for the TV show while deciding if I should purchase it for my library. I have only read the first two books so far but I’ve watched seasons 1-3 and I’m waiting for season 4 on DVD.

  5. I would definitely have to agree on reading HP for the first time. Just the anticipation of what would come next in that series was a great feeling. Also I would have to say another for me would be the Vampire Academy. There’s no better feeling then meeting Rose and Dimitri for the first time, and watching them find the connection, and the banter that comes with them.

Leave a Reply

