My True Love Gave To Me, Stephanie Perkins

mytrueloveOn the first day of Christmas, my true love gave to me …This beautiful collection features twelve gorgeously romantic stories set during the festive period, by some of the most talented and exciting YA authors writing today. The stories are filled with the magic of first love and the magic of the holidays.

Find the book on Goodreads.

Midnights by Rainbow Rowell: 5/5
Instead of rereading Fangirl, I decided to pick up My True Love Gave To Me.  To my delight, I didn’t even need to search for Rowell’s contribution because it was right there in front of my when I opened the book.  I loved it, but you knew that.  Even in such few pages, the Rowell-ian characters came to life and made me laugh, and made me feel, and it was like I was right there with them.

The Lady and the Fox by Kelly Link: 3.5/5
Ah, finally I get to use some “point 5” ratings. I really liked this one, it was mysterious and magical and then the ending got weird. But up until then I was really enjoying myself! I do feel like it needed to be a bit longer in order to get the full effect, but not a bad contribution b any means.

Angels in the Snow by Matt de la Pena: 5/5
I loved a good handful of stories in this compilation, but this one might have been my favourite. Something about it clicked with me, and I loved the characters and the setting and the mix of playfulness and family drama. Matt de la Pena is now top of my list for next time I go looking for some YA.

Polaris is Where You’ll Find Me by Jenny Han: 2/5
I – no. I really wasn’t a fan of this one. The writing seemed childish, especially in comparison with Angels In The Snow, and it was, well, it was something and nothing, really.

It’s a Yuletide Miracle, Charlie Brown by Stephanie Perkins: 5/5
This one was so cute and, quite possibly, my favourite thing Stephanie Perkins has ever written. Sure, the characters had their over-the-top quirks/traits, and silly names that had me rather confused as to who was whom at one point, but Christmas Trees!! And a nice, trendy logger type to help her home with her tree! Fluffy, yes, but I’m a fan.

Krampuslauf by Holly Black: 3/5
Another weird one, and while I do take issue with the whole ‘Prince of Darkness’ falling for a teenage girl… it has happened before (Hades & Persephone, am I right?) and I didn’t hate it. Cliched perhaps, but still a decent story on its own.

What the Hell Have You Done, Sophie Roth? by Gayle Forman: 3/5
Like It’s a Yuletide Miracle, Charlie Brown, this one was more “YA” than the others, and well written YA will always get a 3 star rating from me. I liked it, but I won’t lie, I totally forgot what this one was about and had to Google it. The characters were great, though.

Beer Buckets and Baby Jesus by Myra McEntire: 2/5
Interesting and underused characters is about all I have to say about this one. The title is off and the story gets very old, very quickly.

Welcome to Christmas, CA by Kiersten White: 5/5
Tied for first place with Angels in the Snow, I absolutely loved this one. There was banter, and in jokes, and yes, cliched parental storylines… but they were such lovely characters! And I really want to know more about them. Kiersten White is also on my list of YA authors to look into.

Star of Bethlehem by Ally Carter: 2/5
Ha – no. No. I managed – just – to suspend my disbelief at parts of Polaris is Where You’ll Find Me but I couldn’t manage it with this one. And when I have an easier time accepting a human living with North Pole Elves than I do with a straight YA story, there is a problem. I’m interested to know what others thought of this one though.

The Girl Who Woke the Dreamer by Laini Taylor 3.5/5
Like The Lady And The Fox, it was weird and good, but needed to be longer to get a higher rating. And by longer, I mean, novel length. I loved the old-timey feel and the mysticism but I don’t feel like I got to know the characters like I did with other stories in the anthology. The ending was pretty damned cool though, and a great note to end on.

Overall, I really enjoyed the read though, as you can see, I enjoyed some more than others.  It’s given me a few recommendations for future reading, as well, which I wasn’t expecting to happen.  Which were your favourites?  Least favourites?  What did you think overall?

three - Copy

One thought on “My True Love Gave To Me, Stephanie Perkins

Leave a Reply

