The Dream Thieves, Maggie Stiefvater

dreamthNow that the ley lines around Cabeswater have been woken, nothing for Ronan, Gansey, Blue, and Adam will be the same.

Ronan, for one, is falling more and more deeply into his dreams, and his dreams are intruding more and more into waking life.

Meanwhile, some very sinister people are looking for some of the same pieces of the Cabeswater puzzle that Gansey is after…

Find the book on Goodreads.

Well now, this has never happened before, has it?  I very rarely continue immediately on with a series and if I do, I certainly never like the second book book as much as I did the first.  When I finished The Dream Thieves though, I found I had too much that I wanted to say about the book not to give it it’s own review.

If you picked up book two in The Raven Cycle looking for some Gansey/Blue action, you will have been sorely disappointed.  If you can’t stand Ronan, I can see how you might have skimmed through to the end.  But if, like me, you find yourself constantly forgetting that there is a love story in there, buried under pages and pages of Glendower research and Grail Quest style romping across the countryside (and you have a bit of a soft spot for the snarky and raven affiliated, Ronan) well, then maybe you’ll have loved this sequel as I did.

One of my favourite aspects of The Raven Cycle is the whole dreaming things into reality ability, and this book not only explored that ability extensively – Stiefvater showed us the positives, negatives, rules and restrictions – but also had fun with it.  Chainsaw’s appearance was one of those events in the first book that, to me at least, felt like it got swept under the rug.  Having now read The Dream Thieves, I can appreciate that it was purposefully ignored in a rather Rowling-esque fashion to come back with an explosive explanation.

This series is so different from anything else I’ve read, different setting, different characters, different magic and I love it.  Also, the Grey Man!  What an amazing, kind of creepy, interesting new character!  I won’t lie, I don’t agree with every direction the series takes and I got a little lost about 50 pages before the end.  A dragon?  Really though?  And I love that somehow everything up to that point, two whole books of impossibilities, is somehow totally plausible to me.

four - Copy

Leave a Reply

