Best Books of 2014

This post should probably be named ‘Favourite Books of 2014’, because that’s what you’re going to find here.  But then, I’m a sucker for alliteration.  Also, though these are books I read in 2014, they weren’t necessarily released in 2014.  So, without further ado…

Best Series

gbast

The Gentleman Bastard Sequence, Scott Lynch

Best Stand Alone Novel

gwtwind

Gone With The Wind, Margaret Mitchell

Honourable Mentions

rpl1shiningtrboys2

Ready Player One, Ernest Cline// The Shining, Stephen King//  The Raven Boys, Maggie Stiefvater

Graphic Novels

hmlaaw

sexcr

watdiv2

Hawkeye, Vol. 1: My Life as a Weapon // Sex Criminals, Vol. 1: One Weird Trick // The Wicked + The Divine, Vol. 1: The Faust Act

 

What were your favourite reads of the year?

4 thoughts on “Best Books of 2014

  1. I just found your blog and it seems great! I’ve followed you on Bloglovin’. I’ve read all three books that are out at the moment in the Gentleman Bastards series and the first is definitely my favourite. I thought the others were good, but, because of events in Republic Of Thieves, I have a feeling that the series may fall to pieces pretty soon. Anyway, the first book is amazing. I also saw in your comic section that you like Saga, which I recently discovered and now love.

    I’ve just started my own blog (http://leaf-on-the-breeze.blogspot.ie/) which has book and album reviews on it. It doesn’t look half as professional as yours but I’d be really grateful if you could check it out and maybe leave a comment.

    • Wow, thank you! I’m really anxious to read Republic of Thieves now!! And oh, Saga, isn’t it amazing though? I never think I love it as much as I do, and hen another trade comes out and whoops, down the Saga rabbit hole I fall. Amazing. I’ll head over and check out your blog now. =)

  2. I absolutely LOVE Gone With the Wind. I honestly couldn’t tell you how many times I’ve read that book. Each time I find something new in it too which makes the experience that much better. I’m glad to see it make someone’s list as it hasn’t been coming up too often lately. [:

    And I can’t believe I still haven’t started The Gentlemen Bastard books. Everyone has been raving about them. They sound fantastic and exactly like something I would love. Guess I’m going to have to try and squeeze them into my budget!

    Also, I just had to say, I adore the way you formatted this post. The pictures look fantastic.

    • A fellow GWTW lover! My adoration for this story knows no bounds and I am so excited to reread it (for the first time) this year.

      The Gentleman Bastards Sequence is pretty much my favourite thing ever. Read it, love it, come back and fangirl with me, it’ll be great.

      Thank you! I do try to do something a little different with my blog, and it’s lovely to have it commented upon!

Leave a Reply

