Do Ebooks Count?

Moving to England with one suitcase meant that my bookshelf became almost totally digital by necessity.  Over the last two years the inevitable book purchases happened, though these were mostly secondhand books because in the UK there are so many amazing ways to buy used books in great condition.  Having bought the books secondhand, I didn’t mind so much when it came to donating them in preparation for moving to Canada.  Again, leaving for a new country with only one suitcase meant that my bookshelf was pared back to only those books that can fit on my ereader and a very select few cherished paperbacks.  So then I watch a slew of booktube videos in which people are panning around newly stocked shelves of books to be read and I can’t help but wonder if those unread Kindle purchases count in the same way.

Like so many other ereader owners, I am guilty of spending my free time perusing the sale sections of the Kindle store.  I’ve got past the initial need to buy everything I’ve ever heard of just because it’s $3.99, but I still seem to be stuck in the mindset of buying books because I want to read them, er, at some point.  And a little while ago, those ‘maybe someday’ purchases were starting to build up.  It’s much easier to forget about these books though, when they’re not physically standing in front of you, glossy spines crying out to be read.  Because of this, I know that I am far more likely read a paperback (if I have one) over an ebook in my day to day life.  But.  Is it because of the paperback’s handy, physical presence?  Or is it because I feel overwhelmed by the number of ebooks I have to choose from?

I think it all comes down to the idea that somehow, in my mind, ebooks don’t really count.  The late night Kindle store clicks don’t count as real book purchases and the digital mount TBR doesn’t hold nearly as much weight as it would if it were manifested physically.  It’s odd because my paperback to ebook ratio is pretty much equal.  I enjoy reading ebooks just as much as I do paperbacks, and sometimes more so because I can read my ebooks in the dark thanks to my ereader.  But what do you think?  Do ebooks count?

12 thoughts on “Do Ebooks Count?

  1. They definitely count for me because 1) I spent money on them and 2) that’s all I buy now, so it kind of HAS to count. I think it’s easy to forget about them though, because they don’t have the urgency of a rapidly mounting stack of books that might fall over if you indulge in one or two more. Still, I love my ebooks and have actually gotten to the point where I don’t like reading “real” books anymore because they’re not as convenient! I know, that’s blasphemy.

  2. Of course they count! Read in the way that’s most convenient and comfortable for you, without worrying about tradition, display, other people’s opinions, etc. If you want more paper copies, buy them. If e-collecting works better for you, then continue it. (Btw, I’ve forgotten about physical books that I’ve purchased, too! Messy shelves.) 🙂

  3. I sometimes forget that I own certain books because they’re on my e-reader. With physical books that I want to read soon I can just stack them up and leave them on my my desk/night stand so that they serve as a reminder to get through but for e-books I have to remind myself what I own on my Kindle.

    • I feel you! And this is why I added all my TBR books (physical and digital copies) to my WANT TO READ shelf on Goodreads. When I really don’t know what to read next, I scroll through and I can see everything on my TBR all at once!

  4. I have so many Kindle books waiting for me to read them. I forget they are part of my collection, the non-physical state of them, and thus I often forget to read them. I’ve actually had to stop myself buying them as I forget I have them when I can’t see them.

  5. I love e-books and my kindle can be great at times. I mean, for holidays and stuff like that. But I love physical books best because I am a old-fashioned girl and love old things best.

Leave a Reply

