Unpopular Opinion Time: Books (perhaps) Not Worth the Hype

Reading books is great, but you have to admit that while some novels have you shouting from the rooftops, there are others that you end up skimming through and chucking aside.  You win some, you lose some.  Below are three books that I read partly due to the hype and partly due to the fact that I had already read another one or two on the series and felt that I owed it to the first book/s to continue.  They are also three books that, I’m sorry to say, I don’t find live up to the hype.

find

Finding It, Cora Carmack

So I read the other two books in this ‘series’ and really liked them.  It is possible that this was just the weakest of the three and so, in comparison, it fell more than flat.  I really wanted to like this book!  But the whole off the beaten track European cities thing, combined with the slightly stalker-y beginning of their relationship… the romances seemed real enough but all the issues and arguments seemed forced.  On the plus side, it’s quite a quick read, but I would probably skip it if I had the chance.

 

cress

Cress, Marissa Meyer

Oh, man.  If I wanted to like Finding It, I really wanted to like Cress.  Cinder was a solid beginning to the series, and while I got a teeny bit lost in places in Scarlet, the ending was amazing and more than made up for it.  Cress?  Ehhhhh.  She was a fine character, I liked Rapunzel in Disney’s Tangled and that’s exactly who she was to me.  But the convoluted plot! The convenient landing of their ruined spaceship within a stone’s throw (well, almost…) of exactly the people they needed to see!  I’m sorry.  Thorne was cool, their relationship was cool, but everything else?  Nope.  And I’m not sure I’ll be reading Winter.

 

crownomid

Crown of Midnight, Sarah J Maas

I’m not sure whether this or Cress will generate more cries of outrage but this whole series.  I’m sorry.  I just can’t.  The first book was nothing like it was presented to me and the whole magical aspect seemed odd and out of place.  And that magical aspect is kind of the focus of this sequel.  Also, I’m no stranger to love triangles, but I see zero chemistry between Seleana and the Prince – no matter how much they have started to bond over said magical aspect.  I don’t know.  I’m sorry.  I tried.  But I ended up skimming page after page of this book, wondering all the while whether or not it was worth finishing.

But what do you think?  Do you agree with me on any of these?  Or do you vehemently disagree?

Leave a Reply

