The Rosie Effect, Graeme Simsion

reffect

Don Tillman and Rosie Jarman are back. If you were swept away by Graeme Simsion’s international smash hit The Rosie Project, you will love The Rosie Effect.

The Wife Project is complete, and Don and Rosie are happily married and living in New York. But they’re about to face a new challenge.

Rosie is pregnant.

Don sets about learning the protocols of becoming a father, but his unusual research style gets him into trouble with the law. Fortunately his best friend Gene is on hand to offer advice: he’s left Claudia and moved in with Don and Rosie.

As Don tries to schedule time for pregnancy research, getting Gene and Claudia back together, servicing the industrial refrigeration unit that occupies half his apartment, helping Dave the Baseball Fan save his business and staying on the right side of Lydia the social worker, he almost misses the biggest problem of all: he might lose Rosie when she needs him most.

Find the book here on Goodreads.

The Rosie Project was one of those books that started off really well and, as it went on, I found myself desperately wanting to like.  I finished it quickly and thought that that was that.  (You can find my review HERE)  But then the sequel came out, I thought it deserved a second chance, and I received a copy through Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.  Well, here it is.

I had a similar kind of experience with the Effect as I did with the Project.  I loved the general idea of the book, the writing and the pacing but I came up against too many roadblocks for me to really enjoy the read.  I found the ‘wacky’ situations Don found himself in to be awkward and they often fell flat for me.  There were whole sections the read more like alist than anything else, and perhaps most importantly, I found I could not sympathise with the characters.  Even after two whole novels, I still have no idea who any of the supporting characters are and I’m not totally convinced I know who Don is.  I also became frustrated with the focus on wine and seafood, as I’m not a fan of either.

It’s hard.  Although I sped through the book, I still found myself glad that I was through with it.  But I’m still giving the book a well deserved three stars because I didn’t hate it in the slightest.  I maintain I will enjoy Simsion’s other work, should he choose to write about other characters.

three

Leave a Reply

