The Lincoln Lawyer, Michael Connelly

llawyerMickey Haller is a Lincoln Lawyer, a criminal defense attorney who operates out of the backseat of his Lincoln Town Car, traveling between the far-flung courthouses of Los Angeles to defend clients of every kind. Bikers, con artists, drunk drivers, drug dealers — they’re all on Mickey Haller’s client list. For him, the law is rarely about guilt or innocence, it’s about negotiation and manipulation. Sometimes it’s even about justice.

A Beverly Hills playboy arrested for attacking a woman he picked up in a bar chooses Haller to defend him, and Mickey has his first high-paying client in years. It is a defense attorney’s dream, what they call a franchise case. And as the evidence stacks up, Haller comes to believe this may be the easiest case of his career. Then someone close to him is murdered and Haller discovers that his search for innocence has brought him face-to-face with evil as pure as a flame. To escape without being burned, he must deploy every tactic, feint, and instinct in his arsenal — this time to save his own life.

Find the book on Goodreads.

Find the book on Audible.

Not really my kind of book, but I liked the narrator in what I heard of the sample, and I needed something to spent an Audible credit on.  These were my thoughts going into the purchase of The Lincoln Lawyer.  After finishing the book, I can happily tell you that I was wrong, this is my kind of book.

The story starts out simply enough, you’re introduced to a lawyer who is good at his job and has his own moral compass.  So far, so cliche.  The action builds slowly, Haller visits a client or two, and finally the ‘Beverly Hills playboy’ Roulet makes an appearance.  The case against him seems solid enough, but in no time at all Haller has his own investigator on the case digging up clues the defence never even knew existed.  I found it fascinating to read about his methods and his thought processes in approaching the case.  He thinks everything through before he acts and the legal side of things is written in such a way that the layman never feels condescended to.  And then the proverbial really hits the fan.  The story takes off as the court case becomes the main focus and oh, my God, I couldn’t stop reading.  There are a couple of subplots, and at times I became frustrated because they were taking me away from the action in the main arena, but I thought they were a good inclusion that showed more of Haller’s personality.

I was as bowled over by this book as I was the first Jack Reacher novel that I read, and that is saying something.  It would have been a five star read for me, if only I gave out that rating a little more freely.

four

2 thoughts on “The Lincoln Lawyer, Michael Connelly

Leave a Reply

