The Story So Far – Percy Jackson & The Olympians

 

pjacks

Percy Jackson & The Olympians,

Rick Riordan (2005 – 2009)

The series that started it all. Join the adventures of Percy Jackson and his demigod friends as they fight mythological monsters and the forces of the titan lord Kronos. *

I’m going to be honest with you, until last year I had never really even heard of this series, let alone given much thought into reading it.  I had seen both of the films, but until I started watching Booktube videos, I didn’t realise that the book series had such a huge cult following.  Eventually, after hearing Percy Jackson being hailed as an equal to Harry Potter for what felt like the hundredth time, I figured that maybe I should give the series a go.

I’m a big fan of mythology and of snarky, adolescent narrators so this series started out well for me.  Because of the intended audience, the books are short and packed with action – there is absolutely no time for the story to get bogged down and for you to get bored.  Which I love.  The characters are all really different (I especially love Annabeth’s aspiration to become an architect.) and like in Harry Potter, they don’t always get along.  They work together to solve problems and learn important life lessons… all the while using amazing mythical objects to defeat monsters and evil god tyrants.

I’ve now finished book 3 out of the 5 in the series and I really like it – I’ve given every one of the books so far a 4/5 star rating on Goodreads.  I do feel, however, that I’ve missed out on something for not having read the series growing up (as I did with Harry Potter) so while I appreciate it, I don’t feel that I have such a connection with the series as a lot of others do.

I’m excited to finish off the series and to see where Percy and his friends end up – will Grover ever find Pan?  And then of course there is the companion series, The Heroes of Olympus, to read next.  The best part?  I won’t have to wait for new books to be published before I can read them.

* You can find out more about the series on Rick Riordan’s website HERE.

You can find the series HERE on Goodreads.

4 thoughts on “The Story So Far – Percy Jackson & The Olympians

  1. I started reading this series after the first 4 books had been published and I was already in my 30s. I was in my 20s when I read Harry Potter. I think I struggled more to connect with the characters in this series too but I still loved the books. I hope you enjoy The Last Olympian and that you like the Heroes of Olympus series too. It is nice not to have to wait. I am now waiting for next October when the Norse mythology books are released. The main character’s last name is Chase (like Annabeth) and Riordan has hinted that there is a connection.

Leave a Reply

