Isla & The Happily Ever After, Stephanie Perkins


iatheaFrom the glittering streets of Manhattan to the moonlit rooftops of Paris, falling in love is easy for hopeless dreamer Isla and introspective artist Josh. But as they begin their senior year in France, Isla and Josh are quickly forced to confront the heartbreaking reality that happily-ever-afters aren’t always forever.

Their romantic journey is skillfully intertwined with those of beloved couples Anna and Étienne and Lola and Cricket, whose paths are destined to collide in a sweeping finale certain to please fans old and new.

Find the book here on Goodreads.

I feel like I could almost copy and paste the same review for all three of these Stephanie Perkins books, and let me assure you, that’s not necessarily a bad thing.  With these books you know what you’re getting – a enjoyable, one sitting read of cute romance (albeit with a couple of cringe inducing lines and blown-way-out-of-proportion drama) that wraps up with a cute one liner.  And I like that.

The number one thing that I liked about the book is Isla herself.  I think she is my favourite of the three protagonists as she was the most self aware.  And self awareness always come sin handy in these stories of young love.  I also loved the first anticipatory chapters – I mean, Isla’s unuttered declarations of love combined with Josh’s oh-so-obvious reciprocation of her crush?  Too cute.  And Josh’s whole graphic novel thing!  How cool was that?  And I liked Josh, even though I felt like his personality traits clashed at times.  (But I’m still a Cricket girl.)

What I didn’t like was the cliched big fight/months later ending and the cameo of the other characters.  Don’t get me wrong, I think it’s cool that we get to revisit characters from previous books but I just – I still don’t understand Anna and Entienne’s relationship!  It really bugs me.  (Maybe I need to give Anna a reread?)  But despite all that, it was fun.  And kinda cute.  And I got through it in one sitting, so it can’t be that bad, right?

 

three

 

You can find my review of Anna & the French Kiss HERE.

And you can find my review of Lola & the Boy Next Door HERE.

2 thoughts on “Isla & The Happily Ever After, Stephanie Perkins

Leave a Reply

