White Cat, Holly Black


wcat Cassel comes from a shady, magical family of con artists and grifters. He doesn’t fit in at home or at school, so he’s used to feeling like an outsider. He’s also used to feeling guilty; he killed his best friend, Lila, years ago.

But when Cassel begins to have strange dreams about a white cat, and people around him are losing their memories, he starts to wonder what really happened to Lila. In his search for answers, he discovers a wicked plot for power that seems certain to succeed. But Cassel has other ideas and a plan to con the conmen.

Find the book here on Goodreads.

You know the drill, you buy books when they’re on offer on Amazon and you end up stocking your kindle full of books for a rainy day.  Or, you know, a transatlantic flight, whichever comes first.  I had finished my book and still had a few hours to go before landing in Canada, so I picked out what I hoped would be a great, fun, read to pass the time.

I’ll be honest, it didn’t start well.  First person present tense?  Not my favourite but fortunately something I can (apparently) get used to quite quickly.  Despite the tense, I feel in love with the main character almost instantly.  I think this might be due in large part to his physical and familial similarities to one Sirius Black, but I digress.  You’ve got a boarding school story mixed with magic, family politics and bit of con artistry – what’s not to like?

The magic system was great, especially the rarity of the abilities and the consequences of using said magic.  I loved the whole ‘crime families’ aspect, and I also really enjoyed the twist about two thirds of the way through.  The whole thing was just so cool and fun and mysterious!  And kind of noir-esque?  Russian mob bosses and deadly patriarchs, everyone playing each other.  It was great.

I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again, these kinds of paranormal teen whatsits can so easily be ‘misses’ for me, but White Cat was most definitely a hit.

four

4 thoughts on “White Cat, Holly Black

  1. I love this series! It’s not an obvious choice for a lot of teens and I really have to push it, but it’s worth it. Another series that is a tough sell and I just can’t figure out why? Hold Me Closer, Necromancer by Lish McBride. I am glad you liked this one. Cassel is keeper! ~Megan
    http://wp.me/pzUn5-27Z

  2. I read the whole series which I consider YA but the author considers New Young Adult I think they are called. I was also surprised how I loved that entire series. Also a paranormal theme running through it.
    Check out Cassie Scott, Paranormal Detective series by Christine Amsden – unbeleivably good! Meanwhile I will be checking out this series.

Leave a Reply

