The Manifesto On How To Be Interesting, Holly Bourne

tmohtbiApparently I’m boring. A nobody. But that’s all about to change. Because I am starting a project. Here. Now. For myself. And if you want to come along for the ride then you’re very welcome.

Bree is a loser, a wannabe author who hides behind words. Most of the time she hates her life, her school, her never-there parents. So she writes.

But when she’s told she needs to start living a life worth writing about, The Manifesto on How to Be Interesting is born. Six steps on how to be interesting. Six steps that will see her infiltrate the popular set, fall in love with someone forbidden and make the biggest mistake of her life.

From the bestselling author of Soulmates comes a fearlessly frank take on school, cliques and crushes.

Find the book here on Goodreads.

Oh, how I adore clichéd plots.  I’d ask you to indulge me as I counted the ways, but frankly, we’d be here all day.  I will say this, you can’t really go wrong with a Mean Girls style infiltration of the school’s popular clique.  And that’s what it was, some kind of amazing, almost how-t0, Mean Girls come Easy A highschool… comedy?

That said, this kind of thing doesn’t always work for me, and I kept feeling like I should find Bree annoying, but then she would be so self aware and there would be a small and new twist on the old ‘unpopular girl become popular through a makeover’ story and I was sold.  I really liked Bree, perhaps most of all, I enjoyed her somewhat supernatural wit and ability to form the most amazing come backs – even under pressure.  I was cheering her on when times were good, and I felt for her when times were bad.  I’ve read a few books with characters like her, recently, but I have to say, Bree is my favourite.  And I found I could relate to her.  Especially when she spoke about the need to be interesting.  She and the cast of supporting characters felt almost real to me and I read the whole thing just like I was watching it as a film.

Of course, the whole way through you, as the reader, are waiting for the blogging venture to blow up in her face.  And even more so when Bree started blogging more and more about her relationship with Logan.  I was cringing in anticipation of the repercussions of some of those posts!  Gotta admit, I wasn’t super happy with the way the whole blogging thing worked out

And that perfectly executed The History Boys quote?  (The one that reminds me for the millionth time that I owe the movie a rewatch and the play a proper read through?)  And can we just take a moment to appreciate that cover, for a second?  But then, I am a sucker for typography.  And the print edition has such gorgeous red edges.  A definite win for Usborne Publishing.

four

Leave a Reply

