Me Before You, Jojo Moyes

 

mbyouLou Clark knows lots of things. She knows how many footsteps there are between the bus stop and home. She knows she likes working in The Buttered Bun tea shop and she knows she might not love her boyfriend Patrick.

What Lou doesn’t know is she’s about to lose her job or that knowing what’s coming is what keeps her sane.

Will Traynor knows his motorcycle accident took away his desire to live. He knows everything feels very small and rather joyless now and he knows exactly how he’s going to put a stop to that.

What Will doesn’t know is that Lou is about to burst into his world in a riot of colour. And neither of them knows they’re going to change the other for all time.

Find the book here on Goodreads.

This is a book that has been on my TBR for an age.  Anytime anyone talks about it, all I hear is how much they enjoyed it and how much they bawled at the end.  Chick lit is renown for being very hit and miss.  Of course, this is true of all books as the whole reading experience is totally subjective, but for some reason this is seems especially true within this one genre.  I don’t read a lot of it, but when I do, I want it to be amazing, so I tucked Me Before You securely away on my Amazon Wishlist between walls of fantasy reads for the rainy day when I found myself craving a bit of chick lit.  That day finally came.

If you read my reviews, you might have noticed a theme.  Very rarely do I go into a book knowing anything about the plot, other than the basic setting – and sometimes, not even that.  Somehow I had managed to build up my own version of the plot of this book prior to reading it and I was very, very wrong.  This worked completely in favour of the book.  I don’t want to rob anyone of the enjoyment of reading this for the first time, so I’ll just say this.

The characters!  I felt like I knew them as a nextdoor neighbour.  The romance(?)!  The friendship and the slow, slow burn.  The everyday situations in which they find themselves!  And all of this in the shadow of a castle?  Yes.  If you’re a fan of chicklit, and don’t mind, you know, almost weeping in public like I did, then this is for you.  Just read it.  (I promise my next review will be more objective/useful.  Then again, maybe not.  This is why I couldn’t even begin to review Gone With The Wind, earlier in the year.)

five

Leave a Reply

