Landline, Rainbow Rowell

 

llineGeorgie McCool knows her marriage is in trouble. That it’s been in trouble for a long time. She still loves her husband, Neal, and Neal still loves her, deeply — but that almost seems besides the point now.

Maybe that was always besides the point.

Two days before they’re supposed to visit Neal’s family in Omaha for Christmas, Georgie tells Neal that she can’t go. She’s a TV writer, and something’s come up on her show; she has to stay in Los Angeles. She knows that Neal will be upset with her — Neal is always a little upset with Georgie — but she doesn’t expect to him to pack up the kids and go home without her.

When her husband and the kids leave for the airport, Georgie wonders if she’s finally done it. If she’s ruined everything.

That night, Georgie discovers a way to communicate with Neal in the past. It’s not time travel, not exactly, but she feels like she’s been given an opportunity to fix her marriage before it starts . . .

Is that what she’s supposed to do?

Or would Georgie and Neal be better off if their marriage never happened?

Find the book here on Goodreads.

Unpopular opinion time; I didn’t like Fangirl.  Actually, that’s a lie, I love everything Rowell has ever written. Allow me to clarify – I was ever-so-slightly disappointed by Fangirl.  It was a book that appeared, at first glance, to have been written just for me, and everyone else adored it, but when I read it I felt like I was missing something.  Well, the early reviews of Landline are in and I’m afraid it’s unpopular opinion time again – this time, for real! – I loved it.

If you’re reading this, odds are you’ll already know the basic premise – unhappy marriage, magic yellow telephone, dilemma.  So far, so good.  But you don’t understand how much I love time travelly type love stories!  And I can understand why, if you’re a fan of Rowell’s more young adult fiction, Landline might not quite have been your cup of tea.  But if, like me, you still rate Attachments as your favourite Rowell book to date…

Anyway.  There is something about Rowell’s writing that make her books utterly un-put-down-able for me.  I wanted to keep reading, but I desperately wanted to take my time and savour the story.  Needless to say, I caved and read until it was finished.  I loved Georgie and found her surprisingly easy to relate to, despite having a totally different life to her.  My favourite part of any time travel story is how the main characters deals with said time travel aspect, and I thoroughly enjoyed reading Georgie’s logical approach to figuring the whole thing out.  And Neal!  Of course, he wasn’t presented as the most likeable love interest (and I know all you Fangirl fans out there were comparing him to Levi!), but because I got Georgie, I got Neal.  I thought he was great and I appreciated the shattering of the love interest mould – something Rowell has become quite famous for.

So, there you go.  I thought it was great, filled with amazing characters (as always) and it was different and atmospheric and just a really lovely read.

five

One thought on “Landline, Rainbow Rowell

  1. Pingback: Book Review: “Landline” | The Cheap Reader

Leave a Reply

