The Story So Far – The Dresden Files

 

dresden

The Dresden Files, Jim Butcher (2000 – on going)

The Dresden Files are Jim Butcher’s first published series, telling the story of Harry Blackstone Copperfield Dresden, Chicago’s first (and only) Wizard P.I.*

As I write this, there are 15 Dresden Files books published and available for purchase.  I have now read books 1 – 5, and number 7 (don’t ask), and I feel like I can give a decent review of the series so far.

This series resonates with me.  I’m partial to urban fantasy in the vein of Buffy The Vampire Slayer, and these books give me that same humour and detailed (if occasionally fantastic and ridiculous) lore.  The pacing is, for the most part, crazy fast and action packed and even when other books would give you some down time, in The Dresden Files this will be the time that the giant demon zombie crawls it’s way out of the Never Never to terrorise Chicago.

And I love Harry.  Have I said that before?  Sorry, but I do.  He’s a real good guy, you know?  He’s chivalrous and loyal and wry.  But my favourite thing about him is his ability to get up and keep fighting no matter how many times he’s been beaten to the ground.  Plus, he’s a wizard and looks pretty bloody cool wandering around in a leather duster with a blasting rod.  Just sayin’.

For all that, I do have a few problems with the series.  While I really like the story structure for the most part, I sometimes find the side plots really dull and drawn out.  I rated three of the books 3 stars and gave the other three 4 stars on Goodreads.  A lot of the time those 3 star ratings could have been higher if the boring subplots had been cut.

Two of the Dresden Files I listened to as audiobooks read by the amazing James Marsters.  I’ve always been wary of audiobooks, especially for a series where the main character is so real to me, but Marsters reads Harry as he is meant to be read.  He’s got the dry humour and the, I guess, weariness down pat.  It’s perfection.  There is also a graphic novel series that I haven’t quite got around to reading yet.

As a whole, I really love this series.  Stamp of approval.  Highly recommend.  And I fully intend on seeing out the series, which will, according to Butcher, play into the twenties, so there is a little while to go yet before I have to say goodbye to Harry Dresden.

*You can find out more about the series on Jim Butcher’s website HERE.

You can find the series HERE on Goodreads.

Leave a Reply

