Lola and the Boy Next Door, Stephanie Perkins

 

latbndBudding designer Lola Nolan doesn’t believe in fashion…she believes in costume. The more expressive the outfit–more sparkly, more fun, more wild–the better.

But even though Lola’s style is outrageous, she’s a devoted daughter and friend with some big plans for the future. And everything is pretty perfect (right down to her hot rocker boyfriend) until the dreaded Bell twins, Calliope and Cricket, return to the neighborhood.

When Cricket–a gifted inventor–steps out from his twin sister’s shadow and back into Lola’s life, she must finally reconcile a lifetime of feelings for the boy next door.

Find the book here on Goodreads.

I read Anna and the French Kiss around Christmas time last year, and while I enjoyed it, I found it difficult to like Anna and this held me back in enjoying the book as a whole.  As it does when you kind of want to shake some sense into the main character.  Anyway, I kept Lola in reserve for when I needed something fluffy, full of will-they-won’t they moments all to be tied up with some kind of slightly ridiculous but all around happy ending.  And you know what?  The book delivered.

Lola herself was pretty cool, though she reminded me too much of Jeane from Sarah Manning’s Adorkable to be an unique to me as I feel she needed to be for the story to work.  I never lived in a neighbourhood with loads of kids my age and where everyone knew each other, so the whole boy nextdoor thing is a great novelty, and it’s what made the story for me.  Cricket was so wonderful!  I don’t subscribe to the hype that surrounds Etienne St Clair, but I tell you, I can get on board with Cricket.  He’s all nice and kind of lame (in the best possible way) and he tinkers – tinkers!  How many YA love interests do you know of who tinker?  I’m a fan.

Books like this are all about the characters and they were fab.  All of them.  Lola’s parents, her jackass boyfriend – and yes, Anna and Etienne do make several appearances, if you’re into that kind of thing.  They’re all put in the great and, for the most part here, original, romcom situations we love and it makes for a really fun read.

three

7 thoughts on “Lola and the Boy Next Door, Stephanie Perkins

  1. Sorry Anna wasn’t for you, but glad Lola did! Oh Cricket, I love Cricket. If I could have a late twenties version of Cricket, YEAH. I WANT. Yes he does tinker, and I loved that! It gave him this adorable absent-minded professor vibe and earned him a spot in my top book crushes. 😀

  2. OH MY GOD LOLA & CRICKET <3333

    Stephanie Perkins' books are my go-to when I'm in need of a cutesy pick-me-up. Everything about her books make me glowing with joy and happiness and Cricket with be the cutest boy next door for ever and ever. :)) So glad you’ve enjoyed Lola!

  3. I completely agree. I too had a hard time understanding what all the fuss surrounding StClair was about. I adored Lola and Cricket and I can’t wait for Isla’s release.

  4. Oh, Lola! I loved this story! I liked it much more than Anna as well. And CRICKET. Bigger fan. I also just finished Isla and the Happily Ever After, and oh boy, I loved it. I might be in love with Josh more than Cricket… I don’t know, it’s a tough call.

Leave a Reply

