Reading Habits #5: Goodreads

habits

… or adding my two cents to the Goodreads discussion

Over the past couple of months, there has been a lot of discussion in the booktubing community about the pros and cons of Goodreads, why people use it, and if they will continue to use it in the future.  Personally, I’m a fan of the website and here’s why.

I joined Goodreads back in 2008 purely as a way of keeping a reliable (and hopefully more permanent than writing in a notebook) record of the books that I read.  I never used the website continuously, only logging on every now and then to update my books, but when I really started reading again last year my Goodreads page got a bit of a reboot and I’ve been kind of addicted to it ever since.

Like many bloggers, I love making lists and keeping records – essentially what a blog is, wouldn’t you say?  So websites that enable me to do more with those lists, like Goodreads, are always going to find a home in my browser toolbar.  As you all know, not only does the website allow you to track what you read, but also to post a STAR RATING and a review, if inspiration strikes.  On top of this, and one of my favourite aspects, it also allows you to see what your friends thought of the book; which is especially great for when you’re scrolling through, looking for your next read.

I’m only just now getting into the more social aspect of the websites; a few bookclubs here, following someone’s reviews there, a read-a-long or two.  It’s fun.  And because of this, I don’t feel the pressure to have a 100% accurate reading profile.  I choose the first edition of the book I come to, for example, and don’t spend hours selecting which format, printing, cover the book is that I’m reading.  If the title’s there, I’m good.  I do tend to make sure that my ‘currently reading’ shelf is current, but that’s mostly due to my own personality and not to any pressure I feel in sharing what I’m reading with the world.

So, as you can see, I don’t have a lot to say when it comes to the good and the evil of Goodreads because I don’t feel like I use it to it’s full potential.  I can say though that it is brilliant at keeping track of what you read, when and what you thought of it.  It’s also a great resource for finding new books to read.  But what do you think?  Are you pro  or con?  How do you use Goodreads and why?  And if you don’t use it, why not?

12 thoughts on “Reading Habits #5: Goodreads

  1. I like GoodReads for keeping track of what I have read or what I want to read. Their app comes in handy for scanning books I come across that I don’t have the cash to buy or if I find too many books at the library that I want to check out.

    Have a good week!

  2. I love making lists and keeping track of what books I have read, so I really like using Goodreads! I’ve recently got into the more social side of it as well, connecting with a few other readers who have similar interests as me. I really wish they would create some type of reread option though!

    • Yes! It’s lovely to make lists AND feel a part of some kind of community, isn’t it? (Though I must admit I have been slacking on the social front for a few weeks now.) Oh man. From the number of people who want a reread option, I’m so surprised that they haven’t added it yet!

  3. I think my favorite thing about Goodreads is the small amount of social networking that happens. I love seeing what other people thought about books, and everyone has a different opinion so you never feel alone. I know whenever I don’t like a hyped up book I always check Goodreads and feel better when I seem I’m not alone!

    Plus the lists. The lists are addicting.

  4. I love Goodreads. I joined at some point while I was in college, and didn’t do much with it then, but I started using it more frequently and now I use it all the time for tracking my reading. I’ve also dipped into the social pool, connecting with other bloggers and friends. I love getting the updates about what they’re reading and their recommendations for me. I’ve recommended a few books to select people, and I really like that feature. I’m not concerned overmuch with the reread feature, but I have reread a handful of books several times, and will continue to reread over the years. I agree – it’s no pressure the way we utilize it. I think for those folks who go a little overboard on the site is where the pressure sets in to get it all accomplished.

Leave a Reply

