The Top Shelf: Stormy @ Book.Blog.Bake

bloggerappx

The Top Shelf is a new monthly feature in which different bloggers recommend to you their top reads – and if they’re on THE TOP SHELF, you know they’re worth reading.  If you would like to be featured in next month’s THE TOP SHELF, please contact me.

ABOUT THE BLOGGER: I’m Stormy, blogger at Book.Blog.Bake., reader and writer, and lover of words and stories in most any form. I’ve been blogging at Book.Blog.Bake. since December 2012 and have enjoyed every minute. Besides reading and blogging, I’m normally either writing my own stories or getting my story fix through TV shows.

STORMY’S TOP SHELF

tsfeb1

HOW DO YOU DISCOVER NEW BOOKS TO READ? I discover a *lot* of new books just from reading other people’s blogs, but I’m also a fan of the browsing method. Going into a bookstore and just browsing the shelves until one catches my eye is one of my favorite methods. It has an element of discovery that isn’t present when I discover books from other bloggers or through hype.

WHAT’S THE BEST RECOMMENDATION YOU’VE EVER RECEIVED?  The UNEARTHLY series by Cynthia Hand. I don’t remember who recommended it to be, but I remember discussing(on twitter, I think), how I didn’t like most angel books and I wish there was a book about non-fallen angels, and this series came up. The second one, Hallowed, is my favorite of the three, but the entire trilogy is strong from start to finish. I would have never given these books the time of day if they hadn’t been recommended to me, because between the covers and the premise of angels, they just didn’t seem like my thing. I’m glad I gave them a chance!  

rplone1.  AUDIOBOOK:  READY PLAYER ONE, ERNEST CLINE
I don’t listen to many audiobooks, but I did try Ready Player One and loved it!

Who would enjoy it:
– ‘80s pop culture enthusiast
– People who like evil corporations as villains
– People who like video games
– Science fiction fans

Why you should listen to it:  Ready Player One is just a FUN book that has a serious story at it’s heart. It’s life and death at times, but all the pop culture references and the sarcastic main character never make it feel like a super serious read. You always want to know what’s going to happen next. I have trouble paying attention to audiobooks, but I never had that problem with Ready Player One. It got to the point I was trying to find routine task to do so I could play it!

2.  ARISTOTLE AND DANTE DISCOVER THE SECRETS OF THE UNIVERSE,
BENJAMIN ALIRE arisdanteSAENZ  
I recommend this book ALL the time and on twitter and on my blog, but I couldn’t help but include it on this list–it would feel wrong not to!

Who would enjoy it:
– People who want strong family relationships in YA books
– Fans of lyrical prose
– Fans of male POV
– People who are interested in books with GLBTQ themes

Why you should read it: If nothing else, I would suggest this book for the prose alone. It’s one of the most beautifully written books I’ve ever read, even when it touches on topics that aren’t all that beautiful or interesting. Aristotle, or Ari, quickly became one of my favorite main characters because he definitely has a lot to work out but he tries so hard. The characters in this book are all so amazing, and the family dynamics are wonderful. I laugh and cry every single time I’ve read it, and every time I’ve gone to just re-read a few chapters, I end up re-reading the whole thing.

allyest3. ALL OUR YESTERDAYS, CRISTIN TERRILL
All Our Yesterdays claims the spot as my favorite time travel novel I’ve read thus far!

Who would enjoy it:  
– Fans of Doctor Who
– Readers who want a slightly different time travel system in a book
– People who are interested in an emotional story along with their science fiction

Why you should read it:  For a debut novel, All Our Yesterdays was seriously amazing. It combined an emotional story along with an intricate time travel system that had the time travel enthusiast inside me clapping with delight. This book sucks you right into the action immediately and tugs your emotions around with ease. It’s the perfect combination of science fiction elements with a truly well-done emotional story.

HEAD OVER TO BOOK.BLOG.BAKE TO READ MORE FROM STORMY.

 

3 thoughts on “The Top Shelf: Stormy @ Book.Blog.Bake

  1. Cute feature!! I cannot wait to read Aristotle and Dante!! We’re reading it for my book club in May… so I’m excited for that because it sounds awesome and I’ve only heard really great things about it. I hadn’t heard much about Ready Player One before reading this, but I definitely think I would like it. I love anything 80’s and 90’s so I’M IN!! Also UnEarthly sounds good too. I know I love the cover of it… I didn’t realize that it’s NOT about a fallen angel. I figured it was bc that’s what ALL angel books are about 🙂 Thanks for the suggestions!

    • Hey there, so pleased you liked the feature! I figure a blogger’s top 3 recommendation have got to be worth a read, eh? Ready Player one is amazing and you need to read it now. Like you, I’ve heard a lot of Aristole & Dante but I just… I don’t know. I’ll be sure to give it a go one of these days though!

Leave a Reply

