January in Books

Like many of you, my reading took the back seat in December because of bigger and better things; family and holidays and Christmas.  January though, saw me surprisingly return to reading 5+ books – even with relocating for my new job, where I no longer have an hour’s commute each day to listen to audiobooks, or an antisocial lunch hour in which to read.  No matter, 7 books puts me way ahead of schedule for my 30 book reading challenge; at this rate I might even see myself increasing that challenge over the coming months.

jan14

THIS MONTH I READ

The Shining, Stephen King (1980)
The Name of the Wind, Partick Rothfuss (2007)
Of Mice & Men, John Steinbeck (1957)
Scarlet, Marissa Meyer (2013)
Losing It, Cora Carmack (2012)
Monsters of Men, Patrick Ness (2010)

AND LISTENED TO AUDIOBOOKS

Ready Player One, Ernest Cline and Read by Will Wheaton (2011)

TOTAL BOOKS READ:  7
TOTAL TBR BOOKS READ:  3/10

If you would like to see a review of any of the books listed above, please let me know.

Have you read any of these? What did you think?

What have you been reading this month?

4 thoughts on “January in Books

  1. Oh I love Scarlet & Ready Player One! What did you think of the Ready Player One audiobook? I really enjoyed it, which surprised me. I haven’t been the biggest audiobook fan in the past.
    I still need to read The Ask & the Answer and Monsters of Men. I’m *still* not sure I’m emotionally over The Knife of Never Letting Go.

    • Right? Scarlet was great and Ready Player One was so bloody awesome (expect reviews of both coming up in the next few weeks). RE: Chaos Walking – and the hits just keep coming. Seriously, I will NEVER be emotionally over that series. You need to get on it!

  2. I think 5+ jobs when you are moving jobs (which is stressful) and without time other than the evenings is impressive. I’ve read a lot this month, but I essentially became anti-social.

    I’ve read Ready Player One, who was reading the audiobook?

    • Cheers, buddy. Reading is just such an amazing constant when everything else is changing, you know? Ready Player One was read by Will Wheaton which, not gonna lie, was the deciding factor. It was amazing.

Leave a Reply

