Best Books of 2013

best2013

2013best

This year saw me read more books in six months than I ever have in a year.  Maybe.  I don’t have all of the figures to back that up, but it has to be close.  Here, I have whittled my 47 books of 2013 down to the VERY BEST that I read. These books were all FIVE STAR reads for me, but more than that, they are the books that I would (and have) pressed into the hands of readers; whether they be willing or not.

I read to amazing novels that only came to my attention this year.  I read The Silver Linings Play Book, Matthew Quick after seeing and loving the film by the same name, and Attachments, Rainbow Rowell after being inundated with recommendations from reviewers.  It was my first Rowell, and it remains my favourite.  I finally got around to reading two books that had been on my TBR for the longest time.  The first, Not A Penny More, Not A Penny Less, Jeffrey Archer is beyond brilliant, everyone needs to read this.  Please tell me that a film is in the works; never have I read a book more in need of an amazing screen adaptation.  The second was Birdsong, Sebastian Faulks a perfect novel about World War 1.

This year was also the year in which I expanded upon my reading experience.  For the first time, I picked up a thriller (The Affair, Lee Child) and it certainly won’t be my last.  I have my eyes set on the rest of the Jack Reacher series, and beyond that I am open to recommendations.  I also listened to my very first audiobook this year (The Cukoo’s Calling, Robert Galbraith) to help me get through the nightmare that became the trip to and from work everyday.

What are the best books you’ve read this year, the books that you would recommend even to nonreaders?

Leave a Reply

