Book Review: The 5th Wave

tuesday

5thwaveThe 5th Wave, Rick Yancey (2013)

GOODREADS: 4.08

THE 1st WAVE:  Took out half a million people.

THE 2nd WAVE:  Put that number to shame.

THE 3rd WAVE:  Lasted a little longer. Twelve weeks . . . Four billion dead.

IN THE 4th WAVE:  You can’t trust that people are still people.

AND THE 5th WAVE?  No one knows.  But it’s coming.

On a lonely stretch of highway, Cassie runs. Runs from the beings that only look human, who have scattered Earth’s last survivors.  To stay alone is to stay alive, until she meets Evan Walker. Beguiling and mysterious, Evan may be her only hope.

Now Cassie must choose: between trust and despair, between defiance and surrender, between life and death.

To give up or to get up.

Well, I did not realise just how polarising this book was.  Those who have read it quite literally seem to love it, or hate it.  I’m going to sit firmly on the fence.  I enjoyed it.

Let’s start with the main character, shall we?  The simultaneously ordinary and extraordinary every-girl Cassiopeia.  I immediately liked that she really was an every-girl.  We weren’t just told that she was normal, but at the beginning of the novel, she kept going on about her phone (which was annoying at times, but convincing.) and the things that she struggled with most are the things with which I think I would also struggle in the same situation.  She was kind of snarky and sassy without being over the top and while I’m kind of sick of reading about 16 year olds saving the world… I did quite like her.

Other characters I could kind of take or leave, Ringer, for example, seemed cool and I wanted to know more about her but she was never really fleshed out to that extent.  The story moved at a good pace, covered a decent amount of ground, though I could have done without a lot of the training scenes, and it was really creepy in parts.  The whole not quite knowing what was going on at all times made me uneasy and certain scenes, espcially those with Evan, gave me chills.  You know Cassie’s smart, but can she be smart when it counts?

But I know I’m not alone in drawing parallels between this book and Stephanie Meyer’s The Host.  Is this a problem?  For a lot of readers who aren’t me, it would seem that this was somewhat of a deal breaker.  (Well, that and the ridiculously unfounded love at first sight that had me yelling, “ARE YOU SERIOUS?” at my book.)  Against all of my prior held beliefs about myself, I really enjoyed The Host; there was something about the story that I thought was great and it was probably those same things that let me enjoy The 5th Wave.  Maybe it was the sibling bonds, the creepiness of not just being killed but quite literally being taken over by an ‘other’, or maybe it was just the fact that the female main character didn’t make me want to slap her every step of the way.  Whatever it was, I’m glad I read it, but I wouldn’t call it a must-read.

threestarsHave you read The 5th Wave?  How did it live up to the hype?  What did you think?

2 thoughts on “Book Review: The 5th Wave

  1. Pingback: Book Review: The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey | Jinapher J. Hoffman

  2. Pingback: Book Review: The 5th Wave by @RickYancey | Abby J Reed

Leave a Reply

