Book Review: Cinder

tuesday

cinderThe Lunar Chronicles: Cinder, Marissa Meyer (2012)

GOODREADS: 4.07

A forbidden romance.

A deadly plague.

Earth’s fate hinges on one girl . . .

CINDER, a gifted mechanic in New Beijing, is also a cyborg. She’s reviled by her stepmother and blamed for her stepsister’s sudden illness. But when her life becomes entwined with the handsome Prince Kai’s, she finds herself at the centre of a violent struggle between the desires of an evil queen – and a dangerous temptation.

Cinder is caught between duty and freedom, loyalty and betrayal. Now she must uncover secrets about her mysterious past in order to protect Earth’s future.

This is not the fairytale you remember. But it’s one you won’t forget.

So, Cinder comes highly recommended from pretty much everyone.  Very highly indeed.  I’m not going to say I didn’t enjoy it, because I did, but I will say that I don’t quite understand the hype.

Let me being by saying that I adore the premise.  As I mentioned in my October TBR, I heard that this book was set in a world not totally dissimilar to the world of Joss Whedon’s Firefly, and I can attest to that.  The hustle and bustle of the marketplace, the ‘netscreens’ that are up all over the place showing the latest newsheadlines, and the merging and separation of the world’s population are just some of the things the two worlds have in common.  The cyborg aspect was just an added bonus.  I was intruiged by the relationship between humans, cyborgs, and androids and I wish that it had been explored further.

But.  I don’t know how much of a secret the BIG REVEAL was supposed to be, but I guessed it very early on and I think it ruined that aspect of the story for me.  And Whilst I quite liked Cinder as a character, in all of her occasionally pouty sixteen year old chosen one glory, I felt like she was the only character who had been properly fleshed out.  I mean, Kai was cute, the Evil Queen was evil; everyone was whom you expected them to be.  (Well, with the exception of Cinder’s awesome android, Iko, who provided excellent comic relief.) I immediately wanted to like Dr Ehmann, in my head he was basically Stanley Tucci’s Dr Erskine from Captain America, but he was just so creepy that it put me right off him; even after his personality was reversed out of nowhere and he became the character I wanted him to be.   I also had issues with some of the writing.  There were certain phrases that seemed over used within too few pages, and other phrases that pulled me right out of the story, no matter how much I was enjoying it at the time.

The story and the setting were great and I was rooting for the book the whole way but something just didn’t click.  It did get kind of exciting toward the end there though, so I might just have to give the sequel, Scarlett, a read, too.

threestarsHave you read The Lunar Chronicles: Cinder yet?

11 thoughts on “Book Review: Cinder

  1. Definitely read the next one! It was way better than this one, girly! I’m sorry that you didn’t love it, by the way. The premise was amazing, wasn’t it? I personally loved all of the characters, but I can totally see how you didn’t. Kai was just cute, and the evil queen was just evil. I swear they get better! Awesome review, girly; hopefully (if you read it) you’ll like the next book better.

    • The sequel is way better, eh? The premise was so great; I want to see more of that world and know more about the characters! I guess you’ve convinced me, I will definitely give it a go sooner or later.

  2. Aw, this is one of the books that I put on my FAVORITES FOREVER shelf, so it’s always a bit of a bummer for me when people don’t like it as much, but I will say that if you’re inclined to continue, Scarlet is a vast improvement(coming from someone who gave both books 5 stars). I think, though, that the fact the big reveal is so easy to guess earlier on(I mean, Cinder’s early nightmare was a pretty big tip-off), makes me wonder if the book would have been better if Meyer didn’t try to make it such a secret/big reveal in the end. To date, I don’t think I’ve read a review by anyone who said they never saw it coming. There’s also a lot less set-up in Scarlet, since the world has been pretty establish, so it sort of sucks you right into the main action and doesn’t really let you go!

    • See, I keep hearing that SCARLETT is better so I think I will be reading it at some point. I have to admit that I’m kind of confused about what Meyer was trying to achieve, as you say, why did she make it such a big deal at the end when such huge clues were given so early on?

  3. I have to say that I didn’t really get the hype for Cinder either, it was only okay for me, but I freaking LOVED Scarlet and am currently reading Cress. I think Meyer vastly improves as a writer between the first and second book, so I hope you give Scarlet a try!

  4. Pingback: Cinder by Marissa Meyer | Therine is dying to read...

  5. Pingback: Cinder by Marissa Meyer – Review | Aussie Bookworm

  6. Pingback: The Iron Traitor by Julie Kagawa – Review | Aussie Bookworm

  7. Pingback: Friday Favorite: Cinder | Forever Y.A.

Leave a Reply

