Book Review: Beautiful Creatures

tuesday

bcBeautiful Creatures, Kami Garcia & Margaret Stohl (2009)

In Ethan Wate’s hometown there lies the darkest of secrets…

There is a girl.
Slowly, she pulled the hood from her head. Green eyes, black hair. Lena Duchannes.

There is a curse.
On the Sixteenth Moon, the Sixteenth Year, the Book will take what it’s been promised. And no one can stop it.

In the end, there is a grave.
Lena and Ethan become bound together by a deep, powerful love. But Lena is cursed and on her sixteenth birthday, her fate will be decided.

Ethan never even saw it coming.

My experience of a different series of books kind of ruined the YA Supernatural Romance genre for me several years ago, but when I saw the trailer for the movie adaptation for Beautiful Creatures at the beginning on the year, I found myself unexpectedly excited to see the film.  Without knowing anything of the story, I went to see Beautiful Creatures when it came out, and I loved it.  I was intrigued by the story, so much so, that it went immediately onto my TBR list.

While I enjoyed the storyline in the film, I was worried that I might find the writing style difficult to read.  I decided to read the first few pages on Amazon and I was pleasantly surprised.  It was very well written.  I loved Ethan’s voice, and sympathised immediately with his ‘get the Hell out of Dodge,” attitude.  It was refreshing to read about a main character who was not always the loner/weird kid but who was happy and popular, and is slowly realising on his own that he wants something different out of life.

The story was dark and Gothic and Southern and just plain cool.  I appreciated the Casters being something a little different, and the inclusion of other strange and usually under utilisied creatures like the Incubus made the story even better.  The the romance, family relationships and small town dynamics kept me interested, while the characters and the slow but steady world building kept me wanting more.  Beautiful Creatures is the most enjoyable YA Supernatural Romance I’ve read, and has me excited for the rest of the series.

fourstars

7 thoughts on “Book Review: Beautiful Creatures

  1. Oooh glad to see you enjoyed it so much! My experience was sort of the opposite. I started by reading the series, and never fell in love with it but read the entire collection (which by the end I was sorely disappointed) and then had no desire to see the movie. I think my main issue has always revolved Ethan though. I do think you bring up some positive points about how he was already popular but wanted a change, which is refreshing! But, for some reason he just was too bland for me. Like, he never had a personality. That being said, I think I enjoyed the first book and it wasn’t until later on that I started falling out with the series. I’m curious to see what you think if/when you read the sequels!!

    • No! I’m really sorry to hear that, because from where I’m sitting, this series has so much potential! I quite like Ethan at the moment, but if he doesn’t evolve as the books go on, I can see myself growing tired of him; but we’ll see! I’m going to give the next book a shot (er… eventually. So many books, so little time!) and I’ll let you know how I get on.

  2. I honestly didn’t care for this book. But, I think I am rare in my opinion. So many people, like you, loved it and gush about its greatness. But, I just couldn’t really connect with it. It was disappointing for me, because I was super excited to read it, due to all the hype around it. But, I guess it just wasn’t for me. Glad you were able to enjoy it, though!

  3. Pingback: [Life Blog] Beautiful Creatures – Lesson Learned | anything..

  4. Pingback: Movie Review: Beautiful Creatures | Faith And Notes

Leave a Reply

