TBR: October 2013

lotrttThe Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers, JRR Tolkien  (1954)

I read The Fellowship of the Ring for the first time in August, and I am excited to continue the series.  The Two Towers was always my favourite LOTR film and I am interested to see how the book stacks up.  Just having read the first book, already I can see that there is a lot of content that never made it into the film, and that certain events were moved around to accommodate the transition.

cinderCinder, Marissa Meyer (2012)

As you probably know, this book is rather popular in the Book Blogosphere at the moment.  I’m not always sucked in by the hype, but a futuristic come steampunk faerietale retelling?  I’m there.  Also, I was watching a review the other day and the Booktuber mentioned that this book was described to her as having something in common with Joss Whedon’s masterpiece Firefly.  Needless to say, I jumped straight online and bought it.

Art of FieldingThe Art Of Fielding, Chard Harbach (2011)

This book has been on my TBR as long as Billy Lynn’s Long Halftime Walk.  It’s just that I decided to read that one first.  Well, now that I have, I’m moving onto this.  I read a few chapters last year and really loved the writing style, so I am excited to pick it up again from the beginning.  I don’t know anything about this one, other than that it involves baseball.

What will you be reading in October?

7 thoughts on “TBR: October 2013

  1. Great-looking TBR! I can’t wait for you to read Cinder. It’s one of my favorite YA books ever! I’ve been meaning to read through the LOTR books for ages, but so far I’ve only gotten to The Hobbit. 🙂

    • Cheers, buddy! I’ll let you know how I get on. LOTR has been on my TBR for the longest time; I tried The Hobbit when I was younger but couldn’t get into it, so I was pleasantly surprised by my experience with Fellowship!

  2. Pingback: The Lord of the Rings Part I | Brain Critique

Leave a Reply

