September Book of the Month: Attachments

tuesday

Attachments, Rainbow Rowell  (2011)

att

When I started watching Booktubers a few weeks ago, a couple of things became very clear very quickly.  Firstly, that a lot of people around my age are reading piles and piles of YA novels, and that Rainbow Rowell writes the kind of books that could have been made especially for me, and yet I had never even heard of her.  I had to remedy this, and quickly.  A trip to Amazon, a few days shipping, and I had Attachments in my possession.

I didn’t put it down.  I read it cover to cover in an evening and loved every minute of it

The story is set in 1999 and centers around a guy called Lincoln who takes a job as an internet security officer at a newspaper.  What his job actually entails is reading through any flagged emails, and sending out warnings accordingly.  The same two women keep having their emails flagged but Lincoln doesn’t report them.  Instead, he thinks of them as his work friends, the only people with whom he has any contact as he works the night shift down in the basement.  As the story progresses, he realises that he has fallen in love with one of the women, Beth, and starts trying to conveniently bump into her… despite not knowing what she looks like.

“Hi, I’m the guy who reads your e-mail, and also, I love you . . . “

Lincoln is basically me.  Well, me if I was 28 years old, male, and a perpetual college student.  The things he thinks and his whole attitude and approach to life.  His optimism and his need to do something, to get on and just do something with his life but feeling stuck.  Something to which many of us can relate, I’m sure.  Then there are the girls, Beth and Jennifer, who’s email conversations could easily belong to myself and my best friend.  Their relationship and their humour are just two of the things that make this book so relatable, and I think its relatability is why I loved it so much.

Attachments may have been my first Rainbow Rowell novel, but it won’t be my last.  I hear Eleanor & Park is amazing, and I am beyond excited to read Fangirl, another book that looks like it might be about ‘me’.  It’s rare for me to find a book that I can connect with so wholeheartedly as I did with Attachments and I just want to share it with everyone.  So much so, that I may have ordered a copy to be sent to my best friend’s house immediately after I finished reading it.  Now, if that’s not a recommendation, I don’t know what is.

fivestars

2 thoughts on “September Book of the Month: Attachments

Leave a Reply

