Sam REreads: The Fault In Our Stars


tuesday

The Fault in Our Stars, John Green  (2012)9780525478812_custom-7eb6cc16a8a3f2266865895e1718ac9e9d6232e0-s6-c30

Sunday night I decided to read a little before bed, as you do.  I thought, ‘Hey, I’ve been thinking about The Fault In Our Stars a bit lately; I’ll just read a few chapters and go to sleep.’

I read the whole thing.  It only took me a few hours, and I still managed lights out before midnight.

At 16, Hazel has been terminally ill for several years.  At the insistence of her parents, she starts attending a weekly support group for adolescents with cancer.  One night when she walks in, a hot one legged guy, Augustus, is staring at her.  He is absolutely enamoured by her from the very beginning, though she can’t understand why, and the story tells of their relationship and Hazel’s quest to meet her favourite author.

“Oh, I wouldn’t mind, Hazel Grace. It would be a privilege to have my heart broken by you.”

As a lot of you will already know, this book is an amazing read.  You quickly become invested in the characters, the language makes it easy to read, and the story moves along quickly.  There are several very quotable lines that I often see sprinkled around the internet, and the humour is fantastic, very John Green, and helps to balance out the more serious aspects of the book.  Like the way in which Green explores cancer, and the way it affects both the teenagers in the book, and their families.  Reading The Fault in Our Stars, I got the feeling that it was very thoroughly researched and I found it fascinating to read about Hazel’s diagnosis and treatment in layman’s terms.

You’ll laugh, you’ll cry, and in the end you’ll sit there and think back over what you’ve just experienced.  It is difficult to explain to the uninitiated just why they so badly need to read a book about teenagers with cancer, so I suggest shoving a copy into their hands and greeting them with a consoling hug when they return to you, red nosed and puffy eyed, after having finished the book.

fourstars

Leave a Reply

