Review: The Lord of The Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring

tuesday

the-fellowship-of-the-ringThe Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring, JRR Tolkien  (1954)

While she has always enjoyed reading, my mother is not a fan of fantasy as a genre.  However, ever since the first Lord of the Rings film was released, and she read the trilogy for the first time, my mother has never ceased in her recommendation of the books.  So, after years (can it really be twelve years?of hearing this, I finally got myself organised and purchased The Fellowship of the Ring on my Kindle.

The dark, fearsome Ringwraiths are searching for a Hobbit. Frodo Baggins knows that they are seeking him and the Ring he bears—the Ring of Power that will enable evil Sauron to destroy all that is good in Middle-earth. Now it is up to Frodo and his faithful servant, Sam, with a small band of companions, to carry the Ring to the one place it can be destroyed: Mount Doom, in the very center of Sauron’s realm.

By now, I’m sure, we all know the story of The Lord of the Rings.  Frodo inherits a ring from his famous and eccentric Uncle Bilbo that puts him in all kinds of danger.  But did you know that SEVENTEEN YEARS pass between Bilbo’s birthday, and Frodo setting out on his quest?  Okay, maybe you did.  I’m slowly realising that I am one of the few people in the world who settled with the films and have never read the original text.  Anyway, the book is full of amazing things like this that casual LOTR fans such as myself miss out on until we read the books.

I had been forewarned that even at over three hours a piece, the films had left much of the original material untouched; just how much, I had no idea.  There are whole characters, fantastic characters, who were unfortunately cut from the films, and while the story did drag a little in places, I found it surprisingly easy going.  Something for which I found myself totally unprepared, however, was the amount of singing in the book.  I have to admit that I skim read through most of the songs and poems, mostly because I was eager to get on with the story!  I thoroughly enjoyed it, and believe that my knowledge of the films helped me to keep characters and places straight in my head.  I am definitely going to be buying myself a physical set of the books, and hope to have the trilogy finished by the end of the year.

fourstars

Leave a Reply

